THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Impressions of Curtis Mayfield

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Impressions of Curtis Mayfield
Impressions of Curtis Mayfield


'Impressions of Curtis Mayfield' is a collection of a dozen reworkings of some of the late, great soul man's most potent compositions, recorded by a collective of jazz aces calling themselves the Jazz Soul Seven. The band includes Phil Upchurch on guitar, Terri Lyne Carrington on drums, Wallace Roney on trumpet, Ernie Watts on saxophone and the late "Master" Henry Gibson on percussion.

For the project Phil Upchurch handpicked four Los Angeles-based players and two special imports (Roney and Gibson), all well-known in jazz circles but with the earthy sensibilities to grasp and interpret the gospel and funk of where Curtis was coming from. The tracks chosen represent some of Mayfield's finest songs, such as "Move On Up", "Superfly" and "People Get Ready". The inclusion of "Master" Henry Gibson is of particular interest as he played with Mayfield for seventeen years. Most famously, you can hear him on Mayfield's Superfly soundtrack (playing his signature roto-toms on "Pusherman") and see him in the movie playing congas in the nightclub scenes.

Personnel: Phil Upchurch (guitar), Terry Lyne Carrington (drums), Wallace Roney (trumpet), Ernie Watts (saxophone), Russ Ferrante (piano), "Master" Henry Gibson (percussion), Bob Hurst (bass)


  1. Name
  2. Freddie's Dead
  3. It's All Right
  4. Move On Up
  5. We're A Winner
  6. Superfly
  7. Beautiful Brother of Mine
  8. Check Out Your Mind
  9. I'm So Proud
  10. Keep On Pushing
  11. People Get Ready
  12. Gypsy Woman
  13. Amen
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide