THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Glad To Know You ~ The Anthology 1980-1986: 5CD Clamshell Boxset

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


  • Having originally played guitar in prog-rock group Byzantium and (briefly) in Jonathan Kelly’s Outside, Jankel rose to prominence as Ian Dury’s sidekick and musical director in Ian Dury & The Blockheads. He was the musical mastermind behind debut “New Boots And Panties” and its follow up “Do It Yourself”.
  • Jankel’s solo career was launched with the song ‘Ai No Corrida’, which appeared on his self-titled debut album, but was mainly known via the version recorded by Quincy Jones on his “The Dude” album, which was a worldwide hit in 1981 (#14 UK, #28 US).
  • The follow-up album, “Chasanova” (Questionnaire in US) was notable for the big US club hit ‘Glad To Know You’, which went to #1 in the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play chart, staying there for seven weeks. It was the biggest selling 12-inch single of 1982. It was one of several collaborations between Jankel and Ian Dury, who wrote the sardonic lyrics to the song.
  • Several of the tracks for “Chazablanca” were recorded at Chris Blackwell’s Compass Point Studios, where Chaz worked with legendary Jamaican sound engineer Steve Stanley (Kendall Stubbs also contributed bass to this album). Several of the songs on “Chazablanca” and Questionnaire were co-writes with Laura Weymouth, sister of Tina Weymouth of Talking Heads/Tom Tom Club.
  • Chaz’s final album for A&M, “Looking At You”, included the club hit ‘Number One’, which was included on the soundtrack for BratPack comedy Real Genius, starring Val Kilmer. This was also another co-write with Ian Dury.
  • All the albums demonstrate both Jankel’s keen ear for melody but also his willingness to experiment with rhythms, forms and styles, from the Kraftwerkian ‘3,000,000 Synths’ to criminally underrated R&B of ‘Tell Me Tell Me’.
  • Included in the package are five CDs, which comprise the four solo albums originally released on A&M of which only two; “Looking At You” (released in Germany) and “Chaz Jankel” (released in the UK in 2005) ever came out on CD. There is a bonus CD which includes various dance remixes, single edits and bonus tracks from 12-inch releases over the period 1980 - 1986. The vast majority of the material here has never been available digitally anywhere before. The bonus CD was compiled by acclaimed DJ and writer - Bill Brewster – and this gorgeous package also includes a Bill Brewster penned essay, detailing the career of Chaz taken from extensive interviews with the author”.


  1. Name
  2. Ai No Corrida
  3. Peace, At Last
  4. Just A Thought
  5. Lenta Latina
  6. Fuse
  7. Am I Honest With Myself Really?
  8. Reverie
  9. 109
  10. Johnny Funk
  11. Now Youre Dancing
  12. Magic Of Music
  13. Glad To Know You
  14. Boy
  15. Questionnaire
  16. 3,000,000 Synths
  17. Glad To Know You (UK Mix)
  18. Questionnaire (UK Mix)
  19. Theme To Chazablanca
  20. Without You
  21. I Can Get Over It (If You Can Get Over Here)
  22. Tell Me
  23. Pretty Thing
  24. Whisper
  25. All I Want To Do Is Dance
  26. Davis
  27. Thank You Very Much
  28. Hard Music
  29. Tonights Our Night
  30. Rhythm In My Life
  31. Little Eva
  32. Eastern Light
  33. Number One
  34. Tell Me, Tell Me
  35. Looking At You
  36. The Boy On The Bridge
  37. Love Rhythms
  38. Youre My Occupation (Extended) (Featuring Brenda Jones)
  39. Rêve De Chèvre
  40. 109 (Give Me Something I Can Remember) (Special Extended Version)
  41. Without You (Extended Version)
  42. To Woo Lady Kong
  43. Am I Honest With Myself Really? (Edit)
  44. No. 1 (Manhattan Mix)
  45. Johnny Funk (Extended)
  46. 3,000,000 Synths (Single Edit)
  47. Tonights The Night (Edit)
  48. Youre My Occupation (Dub Version Remix)
  49. No. 1 (Dub Mix)

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock