THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Only After Dark: The Complete Mainman Recordings (4CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Only After Dark: The Complete Mainman Recordings (4CD)
Only After Dark: The Complete Mainman Recordings (4CD)


  • When David Bowie announced at the Hammersmith Odeon on 3rd July 1973 that he (or, as it subsequently turned out, alter-ego Ziggy Stardust) was breaking up the band, manager Tony Defries glimpsed a golden opportunity rather than the end of an era. With the MainMan agency’s main man coming off the road for at least a while, there was, Defries reasoned, space in the rock star firmament for a new Bowie, particularly one who would also be under MainMan’s management…


  • Thus it was that Bowie’s faithful right-hand man, Mick Ronson, was thrust into the spotlight. Possibly the most reluctant solo performer ever, Ronno was given three weeks to write and record a debut solo album.  With Bowie’s help (he contributed three songs to the set), “Slaughter On 10th Avenue” was quickly pieced together after the conclusion of the “Pin Ups” sessions.  Despite its rushed nature it was a strong effort, and the LP reached the UK album charts Top Ten.


  • Buoyed by this success, Ronson then recorded a second album, “Play Don’t Worry” - although before it could appear, he’d accepted Ian Hunter’s invitation to join Mott The Hoople. As a result, Mick’s sophomore solo set was largely overlooked, and his lukewarm attempts to promote it were further scuppered by his and Ian Hunter’s decision to leave Mott and relocate to America.


  • Sadly “Slaughter On 10th Avenue” and “Play Don’t Worry” would be the only solo albums released during Mick’s lifetime: after his departure from MainMan in mid-1976, he largely preferred to work in a group context rather than as a solo performer.


  • Nevertheless, he did continue to record sporadically as a solo act. A 4-CD set, Only After Dark chronicles his peripatetic solo work during the rest of the seventies after his split with Bowie, with those two official albums joined by B-sides, alternative versions, outtakes and a plethora of unissued-at-the-time studio recordings (including a handful with Guam, the backing band for Bob Dylan’s legendary 1975 Rolling Thunder tour) and various highlights from his live shows.  Featuring some rare photos and a lengthy new essay on his Seventies career, Only After Dark is the most comprehensive anthology to date of a major talent.        


  1. Name
  2. Love Me Tender
  3. Growing Up And Im Fine
  4. Only After Dark
  5. Music Is Lethal
  6. I'm The One
  7. Pleasure Man/Hey Ma Get Papa
  8. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
  9. Leave My Heart Alone
  10. Slaughter On 10th Avenue Solo Guitar Sections
  11. Love Me Tender (Live)
  12. Slaughter On 10th Avenue (Live)
  13. 'Teen Magazine' Interview (Spoken Word)
  14. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
  15. Angel No. 9
  16. F.B.I. (Live)
  17. Billy Porter
  18. Angel No. 9
  19. This Is For You
  20. White Light/White Heat
  21. Play Dont Worry
  22. Hazy Days
  23. Girl Cant Help It
  24. Empty Bed (Io Me Ne Andrei)
  25. Woman
  26. Seven Days
  27. 28 Days Jam (Out-Take)
  28. Stone Love (Soul Love) (Out-Take)
  29. Id Rather Be Me (Out-Take)
  30. Life On Mars (Demo)
  31. Pain In The City (Demo)
  32. Dogs (French Girl) (Demo)
  33. Woman (Demo - Alternative Version)
  34. Seven Days (Demo - Alternative Version)
  35. All Night Long
  36. I'd Give Anything To See You
  37. Takin' A Train
  38. Hard Life
  39. (I'm Just A) Junkie For Your Love
  40. Crazy Love
  41. Hey Grandma
  42. Is That Any Way
  43. I've Got No Secrets
  44. Hard Headed Woman
  45. Roll Like The River
  46. Angel No. 9
  47. Junkie (Demo)
  48. All Night Long (Demo)
  49. Ronno's Bar & Grill (Studio Outtake)
  50. Hey Grandma (Demo)
  51. Crazy Love (Demo)
  52. Hard Life (Demo - Ballad Version)
  53. I'd Give Anything To See You (Demo)
  54. Takin' The Next Train (Demo)
  55. Crazy Love (Live)
  56. Hey Grandma (Live)
  57. (Takin' A) Train (Live)
  58. Junkie (Live)
  59. I'd Give Anything (To See You) (Live)
  60. Hard Life (Live)
  61. All Night Long (Live)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock