THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

City Of Refuge

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
City Of Refuge
City Of Refuge


Reared among the Pentecostal pines of Oregon, Rachel Harrington has been doing things in the wrong order for quite some time. She'd had extensive radio play before performing her first live show, and she was opening for Grammy winners and nominees before releasing her first record. Now, hot on the heals of her critically acclaimed 2007 debut, The Bootleggers' Daughter, Rachel presents "City of Refuge". Her backing band on the recording consists of Tim O'Brien (fiddle), Mike Grigoni (dobro), Zak Borden (mandolin), and Jon Harmar (upright bass), with Holly O'Reilly and Pieta Brown on backing vocals. Peopled with characters seeking respite, escape or salvation, this album farms personal and mythical stories from the American West, including tales inspired by memoirs of prostitutes during the Alaska gold rush, the cantankerous Harry Truman of Mt. St. Helens, and short story writer Raymond Carver. The album is produced by Even Brubaker and mixed by David Ferguson (Johnny Cash's American Recordings III and IV). Toured Europe in July 2008. Booking European dates for April, May June 2009. Reviewed in Q, Featured in Irish Times and Country Music People and it's just getting started. Tracks: Karen Kane / A Housewife's Lament / Old Time Religion; Working On A Building / Truman / Carver / The Clearcut / Angel Boy / Ode To Billy Joe / I Don't Want To Get Adjusted To This World / Under The Big Top.


  1. Name
  2. Karen Kane
  3. A Housewife's Lament
  4. Old Time Religion / Working On A Building
  5. Truman
  6. Carver
  7. The Clearcut
  8. Angel Boy
  9. Ode To Billy Joe
  10. I Don't Want To Get Adjusted To This World
  11. Under The Big Top
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide