THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Am I Groovin' You - The Pye Anthology

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:
Am I Groovin' You - The Pye Anthology
Am I Groovin' You - The Pye Anthology


  • 3CD set containing much-loved UK soul act The Foundations’ recordings for Pye including the hits, ‘Baby Now That I’ve Found You’ (UK #1, US #11), ‘Back On My Feet Again’ (UK #18), ‘Any Old Time (You’re Lonely And Sad)’ (UK #48), ‘Build Me Up Buttercup’ (UK #2, US #3), ‘In The Bad Bad Old Days (Before You Loved Me)’ (UK #8) and ‘Born To Live, Born To Die’ (UK #46).
  • Plus The Foundations’ UK albums, ‘From The Foundations’ (1967), ‘Rocking The Foundations’ (1968) and ‘Digging The Foundations’ (1969) in full.
  • And tracks from the 1969 Marble Arch label compilation ‘The Foundations’ including superb versions of Freddie Scott’s ‘Am I Groovin’ You’ and Bob And Earl’s ‘Harlem Shuffle’ plus the A and B sides of The Foundations’ Pye singles, Clem Curtis solo recordings and rarities.

The embryonic Foundations formed in London in 1965 as The Ramong Sound, then The Ramongs, fronted Sam And Dave-style by two black singers Clem Curtis and Raymond Morrison AKA Ramong. When Morrison left, he was briefly replaced by the future “God Of Hellfire” Arthur Brown before the group settled on a line-up of white British guitarist Alan Warner, bassist Peter Macbeth and drummer Tim Harris, Sri Lankan keyboardist Tony Gomez, Dominican trombonist Eric Allandale, Jamaican tenor saxophonists Pat Burke and Mike Elliott with Curtis as lead singer.

At Warner’s instigation, the now eight-piece changed their name to The Foundations in January 1967 and they honed their craft at the Butterfly Club, an old basement gambling den in Westbourne Grove where Rod Stewart sat in with them. All went well at the club until gangsters running a protection racket tied Curtis to a chair and held a knife to his throat. A new headquarters in a mini cab office proved safer and the band were soon supporting US soul acts Edwin Starr and The Toys.

After signing to Pye Records, The Foundations became the first multi-racial group to hit the top spot in England with their debut release ‘Baby Now That I’ve Found You’ in 1967. They were also the first British soul act to have a hit in the USA where they toured.

When Clem Curtis and Mike Elliott split with the band in 1968, the band bounced back with ‘Build Me Up Buttercup’ co-written by Manfred Mann singer Mike D’Abo and sung by new vocalist Colin Young that was a huge hit on both sides of the Atlantic. The song reached a new


  1. Name
  2. Baby Now That I Found You
  3. I Can Take Or Leave Your Loving
  4. Hold Me Just A Little While Longer
  5. Come On Back To Me
  6. Love Is A Five Letter Word
  7. Call Me
  8. Show Me
  9. Jerkin The Dog
  10. A Whole New Thing
  11. The Writings On The Wall
  12. Mr Personality Man
  13. Back On My Feet Again (mono)
  14. Any Old Time Youre Lonely Or Sad (mono)
  15. We Are Happy People
  16. Its All Right
  17. Build Me Up Buttercup (mono)
  18. A New Direction
  19. Baby Now That I Found You
  20. I Can Take Or Leave You Loving
  21. Hold Me Just A Little While Longer
  22. Come On Back To Me
  23. Love Is A Five Letter Word
  24. Call Me
  25. Show Me
  26. Jerkin The Dog
  27. A Whole New Thing
  28. The Writings On The Wall
  29. Mr Personality Man
  30. Am I Groovin You (studio version)
  31. Harlem Shuffle (studio version)
  32. Tomorrow (studio version)
  33. Give Me Love
  34. My Little Chickadee
  35. Till Night Brought Day
  36. Waiting On The Shores Of Nowhere
  37. In The Bad Bad Old Days Before You Loved Me
  38. A Penny Sir
  39. I Can Feel It
  40. Take Away The Emptiness Too
  41. Let The Heartaches Begin
  42. A Walk Through The Trees
  43. That Same Old Feeling
  44. Solomon Grundy
  45. Baby Now That I Found You (Colin Young vocal) (stereo)
  46. Born To Live, Born To Die
  47. Why Did You Cry
  48. Baby I Couldnt See
  49. Take A Girl Like You
  50. Im Gonna Be A Rich Man
  51. Who Am I
  52. In The Beginning
  53. Love Is All Right (The Horse) (LIVE)
  54. People Are Funny (LIVE)
  55. Harlem Shuffle (LIVE)
  56. Comin Home Baby (LIVE)
  57. Tomorrow (LIVE)
  58. Am I Groovin You (LIVE)
  59. Back On My Feet Again (LIVE)
  60. Any Old Time Youre Lonely and Sad (LIVE)
  61. Things Get Better (LIVE)
  62. The Look Of Love (LIVE)
  63. Stop Her On Sight SOS (LIVE)
  64. We Are Happy People (LIVE)
  65. 96 Tears (LIVE)
  66. Where The Fire Burns
  67. Build Me Up Buttercup (stereo)
  68. Back On My Feet Again (stereo)
  69. Any Old Time Youre Lonely and Sad (stereo)
  70. CLEM CURTIS - Mountain Over The Hill
  71. CLEM CURTIS - Time Alone Will Tell
  72. CLEM CURTIS - Ive Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do)
  73. CLEM CURTIS - Point Of No Return
  74. CLEM CURTIS - Stand By Your Man

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite