Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Gonna Rock Tonite! The Complete Recordings 1969-71

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Gonna Rock Tonite! The Complete Recordings 1969-71
Gonna Rock Tonite! The Complete Recordings 1969-71



  • Irrespective of musical direction, sales figures or personnel changes, The Flamin’ Groovies have always had greatness attached to their name.
  • Cyril Jordan’s mid-Seventies revamp of the band was certainly a huge influence on entire generations of skinny-tied power poppers, but the Groovies took their first tentative steps on the long and winding road to cult stardom back in the late Sixties, when lead singer, original band leader and rock’n’roll aficionado Roy Loney battled for the upper hand with young pup and Beatles obsessive Jordan.
  • After the tentative, privately-issued 10” mini-album debut Sneakers, the Groovies made the transition from San Francisco also-rans to genuine contenders with a trio of peerless albums – Supersnazz, Flamingo and the particularly magnificent Teenage Head - for major labels (Columbia’s Epic imprint and Buddah subsidiary Kama Sutra).
  • Bolstered by sundry outtakes, alternative versions and single mixes, those three albums now appear under one roof for the first time with Gonna Rock Tonite!, a complete anthology of the band’s studio work during the pivotal 1969-71 timeframe: halcyon days that ended in late 1971 when Loney abruptly quit the group he’d formed just a few short years earlier.
  • Bursting with creative tension, wilful diversity and absurdist wit, Gonna Rock Tonite! climaxes with the classic album Teenage Head, a brazen attempt to out-Stone the Stones that saw one critic describe it at the time of its mid-1971 appearance as “close to being the best hard rock album ever released by an American group”.
  • The definitive issue of these definitive recordings, Gonna Rock Tonite! is a 3-CD set taken from the masters and housed in a striking clamshell box. It includes a 20-page booklet that features a new 7,500 word essay on the band.


  1. Name
  2. Love Have Mercy
  3. The Girl Can't Help It
  4. Laurie Did It
  5. Apart From That
  6. Rockin' Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
  7. The First One's Free
  8. Pagan Rachel
  9. Somethin' Else /Pistol Packin' Mama
  10. Brushfire
  11. Bam Balam
  12. Around The Corner
  13. Rockin? Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu (Single Version)
  14. The First One?s Free (Single Version)
  15. Somethin? Else (Single Version)
  16. Laurie Did It(Single Version)
  17. Gonna Rock Tonite
  18. Comin' After You
  19. Headin' For The Texas Border
  20. Sweet Roll Me On Down
  21. Keep A Knockin'
  22. Second Cousin
  23. Childhood's End
  24. Jailbait
  25. She's Falling Apart
  26. Roadhouse
  27. Shakin? All Over
  28. That?ll Be The Day
  29. Louie Louie
  30. My Girl Josephine
  31. Around And Around
  32. Rockin? Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
  33. Going Out
  34. High Flyin' Baby
  35. City Lights
  36. Have You Seen My Baby?
  37. Yesterday's Numbers
  38. Teenage Head
  39. 32-20
  40. Evil Hearted Ada
  41. Doctor Boogie
  42. Whisky Woman
  43. Scratch My Back
  44. Carol
  45. Rumble
  46. Somethin? Else
  47. Walking The Dog
  48. Going Out (Version 2)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite