THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Stranger Blues

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Stranger Blues
Stranger Blues


Born and raised in the blue-collar Mississippi River town of Burlington, Iowa in 1951, Robert Franklin 'Bo' Ramsey not only played a vital role in shaping Eastern Iowa's distinctive blues-rock hybrid, but has continued in his still-vibrant career as a performer, much-in-demand producer, recording session guitarist and "hired gun" in touring bands of high-profile national acts. After fronting local bands in the 70s in the late-80s he began a collaboration with revered folksinger Greg Brown that continues to the present. The past 16 years have brought a dizzying array of cross-pollinations. In between gigs with Brown, Ramsey briefly co-fronted a band with Nashville singer/songwriter Kevin Gordon, led his own bands and - for the past few years - has recorded and toured with singer/songwriter Pieta Brown. He has also recorded with Lucinda Williams, Kate Campbell, Pete Seeger, Ani DiFranco, Iris DeMent and Jennifer Danielson among many others and produced a six-song session for Joan Baez. Stranger Blues is a much anticipated project rounding up Bo's inspirational nuggets drawn from the likes of Little Walter, Howlin' Wolf, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Elizabeth Cotton, Sonny Boy Williamson and others. Produced by Bo and Pieta Brown, the album features appearances by Greg Brown, Joe Price, Pieta Brown, Benson Ramsey and Ricky Peterson.


  1. Name
  2. Stranger Blues
  3. Hate to See You Go
  4. Sitting On Top of the World
  5. Jump, Baby, Jump
  6. Crazy Mixed Up World
  7. Little Geneva
  8. You Got Me Dizzy
  9. I Wanna Get Funky
  10. No Place to Go
  11. Unseeing Eye
  12. Freight Train
  13. Where The Sun Never Goes Down
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide