THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Zoe Muth & Lost High Roll

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Zoe Muth & Lost High Roll
Zoe Muth & Lost High Roll


Whether nailing an upbeat honky-tonk tune or a slow, sad story-song, Zoe Muth's music is so honest and familiar, you'll wonder why you haven't heard it yet. Her self-titled, self-released debut won attention not only from her hometown (Seattle Weekly dubbed her "our own Emmylou"; tastemaker blog Sound on the Sound called her "without doubt, one of the finest songwriters in Seattle") it also earned praise from the worldwide press. The record landed on No Depression's annual Reader's Poll as one of the Top 50 Albums of 2009, while Modern Acoustic magazine called her 2010's "New Artist of the Year." On its follow-up, Starlight Hotel (produced by Muth and Martin Feveyear at Seattle's Jupiter Studios), you can almost feel the wheels turning under the pickup truck. Picture an old country road, flat land on either side and a whole lot of nothing out the window. The mood of the music and Muth's narrative lyrics captures a stark honesty that recalls some of the finest country classics. In fact, there's so much spirit of Merle and Hank in these tunes (sung in an earnest tone reminiscent of Iris DeMent), it's easy to forget they were actually realized in the lush green of western Washington State. Growing up in the hometown of Jimi Hendrix and Kurt Cobain, Muth was raised on old school rock before discovering the Anthology of American Folk Music in high school. The stories of rural people jumped out at her through the music and, when she started writing songs a few years later, she naturally gravitated toward that style. It wasn't long before she she'd amassed a remarkably tight backing band, plucked a name for them from Townes Van Zandt's "No Lonesome Tune," and decided to make a record singing her own songs. Indeed a spotlight should rest on Muth's strikingly honest vocal delivery and unpretentious, poetic lyrics. But, one can't overlook her band the Lost High Rollers (Harmonson on pedal steel, electric guitar, and dobro; Greg Nies on drums and keys; Mike McDermott on bass; and Ethan Lawton on mandolin). The soundscapes the band creates match Muth's lyrics flawlessly, each flutter from the mandolin and every sliding note from the pedal steel pulling the listener further along that country road, closer all the time to high lonesome places.


  1. Name
  2. You Only Believe Me When I'm Lying
  3. Hey Little Darling
  4. I Used To Call My Heart A Home
  5. The Last Bus
  6. Such True Love
  7. Middle Of Nowhere
  8. Not You
  9. The Running Kind
  10. Hard Luck Love
  11. My Old Friend
  12. Wasting My Time
  13. Never Be Fooled Again
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide