THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

El Rancho Azul

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
El Rancho Azul
El Rancho Azul


New album from Texas country legend, Dale Watson with His Lonestars, his regular touring band. Known as consumate entertainers, the band delivers first-rate performances, capturing the energy and musicianship fans know they'll hear at every live show. Unlike the understated, stripped-down sound of Dale's previous release The Sun Sessions, his new album is full-on honky tonk with a driving rhythm section, tight electric guitar solos and the lonesome twang of pedal steel. Recorded at Willie Nelson's Pedernales Studio in Austin, this top-notch recording features Dale on vocals and guitars, backed up by His Lonestars--Chris Crepps (upright bass), Mike Bernal (drums), Don Pawlak (pedal steel) and Danny Levin (piano, fiddle). Together this tighly knit band takes you a rollicking ride back to your favorite dusty bar, a place where all heartache is forgotten. Featuring 14 fresh country originals, El Rancho Azul is a portrait of a lone cowboy, dancing and drinking his way through love and heartbreak. Newly divorced himself, Dale sings about getting married, breaking up and moving on with authenticity and humor. Never one to wallow in his own sorrows, the album has a decidedly up-tempo feel with instantly singable songs. From the opening track "I Lie When I Drink" to the anthemic closer "Thanks to Tequila" the songs seem to be made for the very bars and clubs Dale plays. "The crowd is what inspires me to write", Dale says. <> One of the highlights of the album is "Daughter's Wedding Song," which was a Texas radio hit and was released as a digital single last fall. It is a poignant country ballad from the perspective of a father giving his daughter away on her wedding day. "I'm often asked to recommend a song for the father/daughter dance," Dale says. "I usually say Merle Haggard's 'Farmers Daughter'. The only problem is that, in the song, the mother is gone. So one day I told this couple I would write one special for the dance. While writing, I drew on my two daughters for inspiration and started crying halfway through it. I figured if it hit my heart strings, maybe it'll hit the heart strings of fathers and daughters everywhere. In addition to "Daughter's Wedding Song," there are two other songs specifically intended for dancing - "Quick Quick Slow Slow" for the country two-step and "Quick Slow Slow" for waltzing. Whether hitting the dancefloor or raising a glass with a heavy heart, this album provides the perfect soundtrack to the new year with songs about happy beginnings, sad endings and the surprises that lie in between. Dale Watson and His Lonestars are on the road about 300 days a year, playing big festivals like Farm Aid as well as playing regular gigs at Austin's legendary rooms.


  1. Name
  2. I Lie When I Drink
  3. Where Do You Want It
  4. I Drink To Remember
  5. Cowboy Boots
  6. We're Gonna Get Married
  7. Daughter's Wedding Song
  8. Quick Quick Slow Slow
  9. Slow Quick Quick
  10. Give Me More Kisses
  11. Drink Drink Drink
  12. I Can't Be Satisfied
  13. Hate To Drink Alone
  14. Smokey Old Bar
  15. Thanks To Tequila
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock