THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Wilder Side

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Wilder Side
Wilder Side


For her fourth studio album, Oklahoma City-based singer/songwriter Carter Sampson turned to fans and friends to help her hash out Wilder Side.

The album, features 10 original compositions, and marks her second collaboration with producer Travis Linville. Other musicians making guest appearances on the album include fellow Oklahomans John Moreland, Ali Harter, Ryan Jones, Gabriel Mor and Joe Mack. Andy Adams and Denise Cullen also helped co-write two of the albums songs, "Everything You Need" and "Medicine River", respectively.

As its title alludes, Wilder Side is a no-holds-barred showcase of songs written from behind the windshield, over the road, inside the bottle, and from the heart. The title cut proves the possessor of such an angelic voice is not invincible with her bleeding, beating heart. Other songs offer different perspectives, like the unhinged joy of the unknown in "Run Away", or the vulnerable surrender of the solemn "Take Me Home With You". The album's closer, "See the Devil Run", is an autobiographical account inspired by a visit to the Rev. Al Green's church in Memphis for Sunday services, which no doubt had the demons dashing for the doors. While the themes explored on Wilder Side have been covered by Sampson and her predecessors before, it's her stark realization and buttery translation of the experiences themselves in such a sheer, accessible and memorable way that will propel the songstress to the front of the craft's conversation.


  1. Name
  2. Wilder Side
  3. Highway Rider
  4. Run Away
  5. Holy Mother
  6. Everything You Need
  7. Medicine River
  8. Take Me Home With You
  9. Wild Bird
  10. Tomorroow's Light
  11. See The Devil Run
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite