THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

A Ton Of Colours

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
A Ton Of Colours
A Ton Of Colours


Following his acclaimed 2018 debut album Running, Melbournes Ryan Downey returns with a new luminous art-rock album A TON OF COLOURS out Friday 14 May via Dot Dash Recordings. Downeys sound is a vibrant affair musically, stylistically, and vocally. His astonishing voice often raises comparisons to the all-terrain vocals of Bryan Ferry and David Bowie, whilst his give-all performance style is inspired by artists he describes as offering an expression from a deep human place such as Kate Bush, Karen O and David Byrne. On record, Downeys drama-filled, spirited songs are vivid and playful but with a raw sophistication, in part courtesy of producer Burke Reid (Courtney Barrett, Julia Jacklin), with an electrifying heft, depth and genuine emotion that nods to contemporaries re-defining the guitar record, such as Anna Calvi and Big Thief. First single Heart Is An Onion is a surreal, existential roller coaster ride towards hope and compassion. As Downey explains, its about empathy and looking into each others human layers, seeing that we all have the same clunky, miraculous hearts underneath and finding resilience and magic in that connection. The tracks bold, saturated sounds are steered by Downeys determined yet vulnerable vocal performance.


  1. Name
  2. Heart Is An Onion
  3. Sors De Ma Tête
  4. Half Light
  5. Contact
  6. Patterns
  7. Same Dream, Every Night
  8. Edge Of U
  9. The Holiday
  10. Never The Same
  11. Bobby

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock