THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

You Can't Wine / Music Alone Shall Live: Expanded Edition

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
You Can't Wine / Music Alone Shall Live: Expanded Edition
You Can't Wine / Music Alone Shall Live: Expanded Edition


  • Featuring two of the most collectable early reggae LPs of all time
  • Both albums new to CD
  • Includes some of the biggest Jamaican hits of the late Sixties and early Seventies

Among those at the vanguard of the reggae explosion that took the music world by storm in the late Sixties and early Seventies was performer-turned producer, Rupie Edwards.

Having launched the aptly named Success Records in 1968, his productions regularly graced the local charts, with the popularity of his work prompting Britain’s leading reggae company, Trojan Records to gather a dozen of his best-known productions on the now extremely collectable 1970 LP, “You Can’t Wine”.

Soon after, the London-based operation scheduled a follow-up compilation, “Music Alone Shall Live”, but for reasons now lost in the mists of time, the album failed to receive an official UK release, only seeing issue in limited numbers in Jamaica.

Now, after almost half a century, both of these insanely rare and collectable long-players finally receive their long overdue re-release, with their contents further bolstered by the very best of Rupie Edwards’ remaining output from the period.


  1. Name
  2. You Can't Wine
  3. Grandfather's Clock
  4. The Way I Feel
  5. The Big Sin Thing
  6. Love Is The Foundation
  7. Uncertain Love
  8. A Taste Of Music
  9. I Can't Help Myself
  10. I Need Your Loving
  11. The Masquerade Is Over
  12. The Magnificent Seven
  13. Each Day
  14. Your New Love
  15. High Tide
  16. Love Is A Wonderful Wicked Thing
  17. I Wasn't Born Yesterday
  18. Let Me Love You
  19. Crazy
  20. Chatty Chatty
  21. I Can't Forget
  22. Pop Hi - Neville Hinds & The Rupie Edwards All Stars
  23. Man And Woman - John Holt
  24. Promotor's Grouse - Rupie Edwards
  25. Strange - Dobby Dobson
  26. Falling In Love - Rupie Edwards
  27. Oh Lord Why Lord
  28. Young Gifted And Black
  29. Exclusively Yours
  30. Souling Way Out
  31. Music Alone Shall Live
  32. Since The Other Day
  33. When You Go To A Party
  34. Full Moon
  35. This Is The Time
  36. Every Time
  37. Good Morning Mother Cuba
  38. Sharpen Ya Machete
  39. Too Late
  40. Buttoo
  41. Herbert Spliffington
  42. Long Lost Love
  43. Conjunction
  44. The Big M Thing
  45. If You Cant Beat Them
  46. Young Gal Melody
  47. Red Sun Rise
  48. Look Who Bust A Style
  49. Bee Sting
  50. Fat Girl, Sexy Girl
  51. Handicap
  52. Revenge Version II
  53. Cry A Little Cry
  54. Don't Let Me Suffer
  55. Return Of Herbert Spliffington
  56. I'm Gonna Get There
  57. Your New Love
  58. Census Taker
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide