THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Duke Reid International Disco Series: Expanded Edition (3CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:


  • All but eight of the recordings make their CD debut
  • Features numerous late Seventies hits
  • Includes four previously unreleased tracks

The dancehall phenomenon of the late Seventies resulted in renewed interest in the sounds and rhythms of rock steady and early reggae; a development that prompted noted producer Sonia Pottinger to revisit many of the classic recordings in Duke Reid’s legendary Treasure Isle catalogue that she now owned.

The Duke had been a dominant force on the Jamaican music scene during the Sixties and early Seventies, when he had produced an array of hugely popular sides from his famed Treasure Isle studio on Bond Street, Kingston. Upon his premature demise in 1976, Pottinger inherited the business, although it was not until the close of the decade that that the true value of Reid’s work began to be appreciated once more.

Aside from re-releasing numerous classic Treasure Isle sides on 7” and a trio of “Hottest Hits” long players, Pottinger also had Treasure Isle sound engineer, Errol Brown, remix many of Reid’s most significant sides, updating the sound to fit the new dancehall style. The result was a series of 12” singles that saw issue in Jamaica on either the Treasure Isle or her own High Note label.

Virtually all of these recordings, along with four previously unreleased sides, feature on this essential collection. And with all but a few of the tracks making their CD debut, this 3CD set is a must for all fans of rock steady, dub and dancehall, as well as admirers of Duke Reid’s inimitable Treasure Isle sound.


  1. Name
  2. If I Could Rule This World - Alton Ellis
  3. You Dont Care - The Techniques & Ranking Trevor *
  4. My Best Girl - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
  5. Get On The Right Track - Phyllis Dillon *
  6. I Cant Stop Now - Alton Ellis
  7. Queen Majesty - The Techniques & Jah Walton *
  8. Kansas City - Joya Landis *
  9. Ooo Wee Baby - Alton Ellis
  10. True True - Ken Parker *
  11. Riding High / Gt.195 - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
  12. Im In The Mood For Love - The Techniques
  13. Ali Baba - John Holt +
  14. Love Is Not A Gamble - The Techniques & Ranking Trevor *
  15. I Cant Stand It - Alton Ellis
  16. Those Guys - The Sensations *
  17. Travelling Man - The Techniques *
  18. Peace And Love - The Jamaicans *
  19. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy - The Paragons & Jah Stone *
  20. Moonlight Lover - Joya Landis *
  21. You Make Me So Very Happy - Alton Ellis & Ranking Trevor
  22. Its You I Love - The Techniques *
  23. Dont Touch Me Tomato - Phyllis Dillon *
  24. Barbwire - Nora Dean +
  25. Breaking Up / Phantom In The Jungle Alton Ellis & Papa Ritchie
  26. Breaking Up Dub - The Supersonics *
  27. Baby Love / Westmoreland Flood The Sensations & Jah Stone *
  28. You Dont Care (2nd Mix) - The Techniques *
  29. Chatty Chatty People - Alton Ellis
  30. The Same Song - The Paragons *
  31. I Should Have Known - Ken Parker *
  32. Cry Tough - Alton Ellis & The Flames
  33. I Wish It Would Rain - The Techniques & Jah Walton *
  34. You Have Caught Me - The Melodians *
  35. Stealing - John Holt +
  36. Remember That Sunday - Alton Ellis
  37. Red Ash - Carl Bryan & The Supersonics +
  38. Baba Boom Boom - The Jamaicans *
  39. Musical Best - Jah Thomas & The Supersonics *
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock