THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Red Dog Speaks

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Red Dog Speaks
Red Dog Speaks


Elvin Bishop has been traveling the blues road longer than most, and hes got the stories to prove it many of which are contained within the songs on this release. Stops along the way include his work as a founding member of the groundbreaking Paul Butterfield Blues Band in the early 60s, and pop success with his 1976 smash hit Fooled Around and Fell In Love. Bishops long and varied career has included plenty of side trips along the way as well, from deep down gutbucket blues played in smoky south side Chicago taverns, to raucous roadhouse R&B, to good time rock & roll on concert stages and festivals around the world. And at every stage along the way, hes instilled all of his music with passion, creativity, and a healthy helping of wisdom, wit, and good humor. Delta Groove Productions president Randy Chortkoff has been a fan and follower of Elvins music through all the many phases of his career, beginning with Butterfield Blues Band in the mid 1960s, and when the opportunity arose to bring Elvin into the Delta Groove fold, Chortkoff jumped at the opportunity. The result was Elvins Grammy-nominated 2008 CD The Blues Rolls On, and a flurry of other awards and accolades, including being named 2009 Male Blues Artist of The Year by Blues Blast magazine. Elvins brand new release Red Dog Speaks, his second on Delta Groove Music, is the exciting next step in his blues journey. Right out of the gate, Bishop leaves no doubt where his heart is, cleverly introducing his long-time cohort - a 1959 Gibson ES-345 that lovingly answers to the name of Red Dog, with a gritty slow blues calculated to set the pace for whats to come. Along the way he smoothly steers the way from strutting blues and R&B, to a good dose of good-time rock & roll, and even an occasional detour through doo-wop, zydeco and gospel. Elvin has made plenty of talented friends over the years, and many of them jumped at the chance to help out including John Nemeth, Buckwheat Zydeco, Roy Gaines, Tommy Castro, Ronnie Baker Brooks, and Kid Andersen who all make guest appearances. And all of it adds up to an amalgam that can only be called Elvin Bishop music. Track list: Red Dog Speaks / Neighbor Neighbor / Fat & Sassy / Barbecue Boogie / Many Rivers To Cross / Blues Cruise / Doo-Wop Medley / Get Your Hand Out Of My Pocket / His Eye Is On The Sparrow / Clean Livin' / Midnight Hour Blues


  1. Name
  2. Red Dog Speaks
  3. Neighbor Neighbor
  4. Fat & Sassy
  5. Barbecue Boogie
  6. Many Rivers to Cross
  7. Blues Cruise
  8. Doo-Wop Medley
  9. Get Your Hand Out Of My Pocket
  10. His Eye Is On the Sparrow
  11. Clean Livin'
  12. Midnight Hour Blues
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide