THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Hurricane Clarice

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Hurricane Clarice
Hurricane Clarice


On 'Hurricane Clarice' stringband revolutionaries Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves infuse centuries of matrilineal folk wisdom into a soundtrack to environmental disaster.

Produced by indie folk visionary Phil Cook, the duos energetic sophomore album features nine pieces, including two epic medleys (carefully selected from their archival deep dives) as well as a few transcendent instrumental originals. Recorded during an apocalyptic heat wave in Portland, OR, the album is a testimony to the relation of community and climate in a dying world. The Hargreaves-penned title track delves into the surreal world of Brazilian author Clarice Lespector while the Canadian ballad The Banks of the Miramichi references the before times of a polluted river used as a case study in the environmentalist classic 'Silent Spring'. We turn inward in times of global or personal crisis, seeking the wisdom of those before usa human instinct manifested literally on this record through the recorded voices of the duos grandmothers. Any artist unearthing old sounds takes traditional elements and exaggerates here or there to fit a personal aesthetic or stylethere is no authentic rendition. With 'Hurricane Clarice', Allison and Tatiana propose a third way beyond tradition and progress. Community might just save us all.


  1. Name
  2. The Banks Of The Miramichi
  3. Wellington
  4. Nancy Blevins
  5. Each Season Changes You
  6. Hurricane Clarice / Brushy Fork Of John's Creek
  7. I Would Not Live Always
  8. Dead And Gone (Hen Cackle)
  9. Ostrich With Pearls
  10. The Road That's Walked By Fools

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock