THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Smoke Behind The Clouds

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


Straight-shooting stringband The Bucking Mules deliver American old-time music at its pure and joyous best. Their new full-length record Smoke Behind the Cloudsfeatures 17 mostly traditional songs treated with the Mules? characteristic throw-down groove. The band cut their teeth in Tennessee, North Carolina, and Virginia through extensive time spent with old 78s and elder master musicians from the region. The result is a group of well-studied musicians who know how to bust down on a fiddle tune, belt an old song, and move square dancers. On Smoke Behind the Clouds, the Mules traverse the traditional musical landscape of the Cumberland Plateau, the Tennessee River, the Blue Ridge, and beyond. Favoring spirit and simplicity over pretense, Smoke Behind the Clouds distills a reverence of the past into a driving, heartfelt record tailored for contemporary fans of folk, old time, bluegrass, and more.


  1. Name
  2. Smoke Behind the Clouds
  3. John Cooper's Tune
  4. Georgia Belles
  5. Jasper Jail
  6. Irish Washerwoman
  7. Railroad
  8. Fire On the Mountain
  9. Lexington
  10. More Good Women Gone Wrong
  11. Wild Geese at Flight
  12. Ruffled Drawers
  13. Girl On the Greenbriar Shore
  14. Altamont
  15. The Soldier and the Lady
  16. Climbing the Golden Stairs
  17. My Wife Died On Saturday Night
  18. Greenback
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite