THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Sing Me Back Home: The DC Tapes, 1965-1969

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Sing Me Back Home: The DC Tapes, 1965-1969
Sing Me Back Home: The DC Tapes, 1965-1969


Beloved bluegrass trailblazers Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard are revered as pioneers of the form, who challenged the norm at a time when, bluegrass remained largely in the purview of men. Nowhere is this more clear than on a set of newly unearthed recordings, 'Sing Me Back Home: The DC Tapes, 1965-1969'.

Sources from Alice's private archive and digitized with help from the Southern Folklife Collection at UNC Chapel Hill, the recordings invite us to witness the creative process of these towering figures- just two voices and a handful of instruments working out arrangements at home.

Across 19 tracks the duo sings classic country of the The Carter Family, The Louvin Brothers, and Jimmie Rodgers; contemporary hits of the 1960's penned by Dolly Parton and Merle Haggard; and barn-burning traditional standards that blur the line between old-time and early bluegrass. 'Sing Me Back Home' is a raw, unfiltered listen to Hazel & Alice at the height of their collaborative energy.


  1. Name
  2. Bye Bye Love
  3. Tell Me That You Love Me
  4. Seven Year Blues
  5. Cannonball Blues
  6. This Little Life Of Mine
  7. James Alley Blues
  8. Little Darling Pal Of Mine
  9. Are You All Alone
  10. No One To Welcome Me Home
  11. Let Me Fall
  12. Will You Miss Me
  13. No Telephone In Heaven
  14. I'll Wash Your Love In My Heart
  15. No Hard Times
  16. Why Not Confess
  17. Bound To Ride
  18. Sing Me Back Home
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite