THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Allison De Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Allison De Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves
Allison De Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves


Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves's self-titled debut album is a powerful opening statement. The record not only showcases the duo's impressive musicianship, but is a reflection on which voices we seek to hear as we explore the expansive, diverse canon of American roots music. The album's 13 tracks feature lesser-known American fiddle and banjo songs from African American duo Nathan Frazier & Frank Patterson, centenarian Arkansas fiddler Violet Hensley, bluegrass pioneer Alice Gerrard, contemporary master tunesmith Judy Hyman (The Horse Flies), and more. Already leaders in the young generation of roots musicians, de Groot has become known for her intricate clawhammer banjo work with Molsky's Mountain Drifters, while Hargreaves has brought her powerhouse fiddling to the stage with Gillian Welch and Laurie Lewis. Together they create a sound that is adventurous, masterful, and original, as they expand on the eccentricities of these old songs, while never losing sight of what makes them endure.


  1. Name
  2. Eighth Of January
  3. I Don't Want To Get Married
  4. Farewell Whiskey
  5. Dry
  6. Beaufort County Jail
  7. Cuckoo's Nest
  8. Lonesome Blues
  9. Willie Moore
  10. Buffalo Gals
  11. Wabash Blues
  12. Who Wouldn't Be Lonely
  13. Melinda
  14. Green Valley Waltz
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite