THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Illusion (2CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Illusion (2CD)
Illusion (2CD)


Avant jazz-song at its very best, performed by a world class ensemble led by Julie Tippetts (one of the UK's finest vocalists from the last 50 years) and multi-instrumentalist Martin Archer, their first album together for 6 years, and their most ambitious work to date.

The two CDs can be listened to separately and in any order. Each volume offers a different perspective on a common theme.

'Circle Of Whispers' is a sequence of 13 separate and contrasting songs, performed by various small groups drawn from the JTMA Ensemble, plus some guest musicians. Each song details a character / situation whose presence is hinted at in the companion disc. The result is a powerful and often intensely beautiful record.

By contrast 'Illusion Suite', although split into 7 tracks, is a single piece of music which runs without break for 75 minutes. The music is structured like a DJ mix - with elements appearing, reappearing, and transforming throughout. Extensive use of chance procedures was made in arriving at the finished form of the electronic music which forms the base layer of the piece, over which we hear both the ensemble in full throttle and Julie's complex vocal arrangements. Occasionally the music reaches passages of great - almost overwhelming - density, and periodically the 140 bpm rhythms collapse into abstraction.

Julie Tippetts: voice
Martin Archer: keyboards, electronics, radio waves, all saxophones and clarinets

Peter Fairclough: drums, percussion
Seth Bennett: double bass
Anton Hunter: electric guitar, loops and electronics
George Murray: trombone
Corey Mwamba: vibraphone, wood flute
Charlotte Keeffe: trumpet, flugelhorn
James Archer: beats and loops
Mark Hadman: drones and grinds
Michael Harding: textures and melodies
Hervé Perez: field recordings, electronics, shakuhachi, close mic soprano sax
Chris Trent: industrial environment
Paul Schatzberger: violin
Aby Vulliamy: viola
Angela Rosenfeld: cello
B J Cole: pedal steel guitar
Laura Cole: grand piano
Steve Dinsdale: electronic drums
Liz Hanks, Angela Rosenfeld: cello
Nick Robinson: acoustic & electric guitars
Simmy Singh: violin and viola
Michael Somerset: shaman percussion


  1. Name
  2. Chances
  3. Less
  4. Never As They Seem
  5. Pandemonium
  6. Magic Man
  7. Bare Back Rider
  8. Turn It Around
  9. Illusion
  10. Water Message/The Sun Goddess's Mirror
  11. Between Mountains
  12. Trapeze
  13. Sea Sapphire
  14. Sword Swallower
  15. Elephant Rider
  16. Dancing On Air
  17. Aquabat
  18. Big Cat Tamer
  19. Blade Juggler
  20. Fortune Teller
  21. Movin' On (Dismantling The Big Top)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite