THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Call Me Helium - The Music of Jimi Hendrix

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Call Me Helium - The Music of Jimi Hendrix
Call Me Helium - The Music of Jimi Hendrix


Vocalist Erika Stucky, guitarist Christy Doran, drummer and percussionist Fredy Studer and e-bass legend Jamaladeen Tacuma, explore the music of guitar-God Jimi Hendrix, on this follow-up to their 2005 album 'Jimi' (with Tacuma replacing Kim Clarke on bass duties).

"We absolutely wanted to make a studio recording. To that end, Erika, Fredy and I prepared ourselves for a year, met once a month, created ideas and tried things out," Christy Doran explained the motives for the ambitious project. In any case, the Swiss-American all-star band did not want to jazz up the master's work in a complicated fashion. "We are trying to communicate the spirit and the energy of his music with the experience of today's music," Doran emphasised.

The result is an album that refreshingly rocks, but without falling into the usual superficial pattern of the genre. This is mainly due to the 7/8 and 5/4 times, the highly complex chords that Doran produces on the stratocaster, the virtuoso yet melodic bass playing of Ornette Coleman disciple Tacuma, which whisks away everything reminiscent of Noel Redding within a bar, as well as the nested, demoniacally haunting grooves of Studer, in which everything - true to the Hendrix motto - still sounds easy and comprehensible.

Personnel: Christy Doran (electric and acoustic guitar), Erika Stucky (vocals, toy-instruments), Fredy Studer (drums, percussion), Jamaaladeen Tacuma (electric bass, vocals)


  1. Name
  2. Izabella
  3. Hey Joe
  4. In From The Storm / Sgt. Pepper
  5. Gipsy Eyes
  6. Foxy Lady
  7. Angel
  8. Machine Gun
  9. 3-5-0-0
  10. Bold As Love
  11. Drifting / Teach Your Children
  12. Up From The Skies
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide