THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Soul Organic (20th Anniversary Edition)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Soul Organic (20th Anniversary Edition)
Soul Organic (20th Anniversary Edition)


Twenty years ago the duo HIL ST SOUL released a groundbreaking debut album SOUL ORGANIC. Zambian-born vocalist Hilary Mwelwa and producer/musician/songwriter Victor Redwood-Sawyerr (VRS) had been working away in a North London studio creating a unique blend of neo soul, jazz and R&B that had critics on both sides of the Atlantic in raptures. Billboard magazine enthused: Brimming with R&B/hip-hop/jazz-flavoured rhythms and image-rich lyrics.Even Arethas Until You Come Back To Me glows again under Hils touch. And talking about the lead single Strictly A Vibe Thang, US magazine Radio & Records were smitten: You cant sit still on this one. While listening to this infectious tune you got to move something even if its just your big toe! In the UK Echoes magazine called it one of the best UK soul albums ever. Strictly A Vibe Thang charted on the Billboard R&B Singles chart, following in the footsteps of Loose Ends, Soul II Soul and Brand New Heavies, while Hils acoustic take on the Stevie Wonder-composed Until You Come Back To Me came out of nowhere to be a sensation at Americas Smooth Jazz radio format It ended 2000 as the most-played vocal track of the year across US Smooth Jazz radio stations, and in the ensuing two decades it has been the most-downloaded - and one of the most-streamed - tracks on the Dome label. Also heavily played: the joyful mid-tempo groove of For Your Love This 20th Anniversary Edition of the album now in a gatefold sleeve includes three bonus tracks not included on the original vinyl release: the acoustic version of Until You Come Back To Me, the VRS Remix of Just A Matter Of Time, with its insidious groove, and Down To Business. Hil is still very active, playing several UK shows this autumn, including one at Londons Jazz Café, where she first performed 20 years ago.


  1. Name
  2. Strictly A Vibe Thang (Vrs Mix)
  3. Nostalgia
  4. Just A Matter Of Time
  5. Feel Good Factor
  6. Concrete Jungle
  7. Props
  8. Free Spirit
  9. There For Me
  10. For Your Love
  11. Until You Come Back To Me
  12. Together
  13. Paradise
  14. Higher Ground
  15. Until You Come Back To Me (Acoustic
  16. Down To Business
  17. Just A Matter Of Time (Vrs Remix)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock