THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Original Bells of Joy with Friends

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Original Bells of Joy with Friends
The Original Bells of Joy with Friends


Originating as The Starlight Singers in the '40s the Bells came onto the scene with drum and guitar accompaniment and distinctive, rhythmical call and response counterpoint. This style is most reminiscent of quartet groups such as The Soul Stirrers, Dixie Hummingbirds and The Pilgrim Travellers. By 1951 the group had changed their name to The Bells Of Joy and recorded for Don Robey's Duke/Peacock label. Their million-seller single "Let's Talk About Jesus" went straight to the Top 10 R&B Billboard charts. The Bells went on to record for Wildcat Records, Chess/Checker and Nashboro Records achieveing national recognition for their music. On this 2005 recording the veteran group is joined by guests Joe Ely (trk 1), Wilie Nelson (trk 4), Chip Taylor (trk 8) and bluesman Bobby Rush (trk 3). Tracks: Sinner Man / Great Day / Any Way You Bless Me / I'll Fly Away / Jesus Lifted Me / Since I Met You Jesus / Promised Land / Son Of Man / Won't It Be Wonderful / The Bells / Trouble In Way / I Love The Lord.


  1. Name
  2. Sinner Man
  3. Great Day
  4. Any Way You Bless Me
  5. I'll Fly Away
  6. Jesus Lifted Me
  7. Since I Met You Jesus
  8. Promised Land
  9. Son Of Man
  10. Won't It Be Wonderful
  11. Bells
  12. Trouble In Way
  13. I Love The Lord
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite