THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions
Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions


Mention the name Robert Earl Keen, and several descriptive terms spring to mind - Texas singer-songwriter, career artist, brilliant storyteller, sardonic humorist, poet of the strange and familiar. And now with the release of his latest album, Happy Prisoner, there is what may seem a surprising addition to that list - bluegrass singer. "I've had a lifelong love of bluegrass," says Keen. " When I started playing, my first guitar hero was Norman Blake. In college, I had a bluegrass band called the Front Porch Boys, went to fiddle contests, learned a jillion fiddle and old-timey songs. My whole education in music started with bluegrass." The record finds Keen re-teaming with producer Lloyd Maines. Helping it all fall together is Keen's longtime ace band, consisting of guitarist Rich Brotherton, bassist Bill Whitbeck, drummer Tom Van Schaik and steel guitarist Marty Music, plus a star-studded cast of special guests, including Danny Barnes on banjo, Nickel Creek's Sara Watkins on fiddle and Lyle Lovett and Natalie Maines on vocals.


  1. Name
  2. Hot Corn, Cold Corn
  3. 52 Vincent Black Lightning
  4. Footprints In The Snow
  5. 99 Years For One Dark Day
  6. East Virginia Blues
  7. Poor Ellen Smith
  8. Long Black Veil
  9. This World Is Not My Home
  10. T For Texas
  11. Peter Rowan Intro
  12. Walls Of Time
  13. White Dove
  14. Old Home Place
  15. Twisted Laurel
  16. Wayfaring Stranger
  17. Little Cabin Home On The Hill (Deluxe Track/vinyl)
  18. Dark As A Dungeon (Deluxe Track/Vinyl)
  19. Im' Troubled, I'm Troubled (Deluxe Track/Vinyl)
  20. 14 Carat Mind (Deluxe Track/Vinyl)
  21. Steam Powered Aeroplane (Deluxe Track/vinyl)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite