THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Source

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
The Source
The Source


European and African based, globally-connected collective Afro Celt Sound System have been instrumental in fuelling that far-reaching approach; over 20 years, they've found kindred spirits across international talent, and forged a reputation for exhilarating shows and an accomplished catalogue of albums, dating back to their 1996 debut, Volume 1: Sound Magic. Now ACSS continue their adventures on ECC Records, with their first studio recording for a decade - 'The Source'. As its title suggests, The Source summons the original Afro Celt energy and legacy, while simultaneously yielding fresh inspirations. "There was so much scepticism when we started out", admits Grammy-nominated multi-instrumental founder and producer Simon Emmerson. "We've gone from what was a fairly eccentric concept 20 years ago, to something that everyone understands; I think that's testimony to how resilient the music is. It is the first album to fully celebrate the African and Asian roots brought to the band by long-term members' vocalist, kora and balafon player N'Faly Kouyat and Dhol drummer Johnny Kalsi. Along with founder member Simon Emmerson (producer, guitars, cittern) and new core member Griogair (vocals, piping, guitars) winner of Gaelic Singer of the Year at the 2015 Scots Trad Music Awards.


  1. Name
  2. Calling in the Horses
  3. Beware Soul Brother
  4. The Magnificent Seven (ACSS meets TDF)
  5. Cascade
  6. A Higher Love (tune 'Monkswell Road' )
  7. Honey Bee
  8. Where Two Rivers Meet
  9. Mansani Cissé/Tàladh
  10. Child of Wonder
  11. Desert Billy (tune 'The Balcony')
  12. The Communicator
  13. The Soul of a Sister
  14. Kalsi Breakbeat
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock