THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Aerosol Grey Machine (50th Anniversary Edition)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
The Aerosol Grey Machine (50th Anniversary Edition)
The Aerosol Grey Machine (50th Anniversary Edition)


A re-mastered Special 50th Anniversary Deluxe 2CD, LP 7" Single, Limited Edition Boxed Set of the classic 1969 debut album by Van der Graaf Generator. Featuring a CD of rare & previously unreleased tracks, including two previously unreleased demos from 1967, the BBC Top Gear session from 1968 (including the "lost" previously unreleased version of "Octopus") and the single tracks 'People You Were Going To' & 'Firebrand'; 180 gram vinyl LP of "The Aerosol Grey Machine" housed in the withdrawn UK Gatefold-Sleeve (cut at Abbey Road studios); a 7-inch single of the very rare withdrawn release 'People You Were Going To' b/w 'Firebrand"; a book with many previously unseen photos and cuttings and an essay by Sid Smith featuring an exclusive interview with Peter Hammill; a 1968 poster designed by Peter Hammill. Esoteric Recordings is proud to announce the release of a new re-mastered limited edition boxed set of the classic debut album by VAN DER GRAAF GENERATOR, THE AEROSOL GREY MACHINE. Van Der Graaf Generator were true pioneers of so-called Progressive rock, and their impressive career spanning five decades features many ground-breaking works. Always progressing stylistically in the true sense of the word, Van Der Graaf Generator's music remains inspirational. Formed in Manchester University in 1967, VDGG initially featured Peter Hammill (vocals, guitar), Chris Judge Smith (drums, vocals) and Nick Pearne (organ). The band signed to Mercury Records in May 1968 after the submission of a two-track demo tape. Nick Pearne departed the fold and Hammill and Smith relocated to London recruiting keyboard player Hugh Banton. By the Autumn of 1968 the band had signed a management contract with Tony Stratton-Smith and had recruited drummer Guy Evans and bassist Keith Ellis into the group.


  1. Name
  2. Afterwards
  3. Orthentian Street (Parts 1 & 2)
  4. Running Back
  5. Into A Game
  6. Ferret And Featherbird
  7. Aerosol Grey Machine
  8. Black Smoke Yen
  9. Aquarian
  10. Giant Squid
  11. Octopus
  12. Necromancer
  13. Sunshine (1967 Demo) (Previously Unreleased)
  14. Firebrand (1967 Demo) (Previously Unreleased)
  15. People You Were Going To (BBC Session - November 1968)
  16. Afterwards (BBC Session - November 1968)
  17. Necromancer (BBC Session - November 1968)
  18. Octopus (BBC Session - November 1968) (Previously Unreleased)
  19. People You Were Going To (Single Version)
  20. Firebrand (Single Version)
  21. Afterwards
  22. Aerosol Grey Machine
  23. Orthenthian Street
  24. Black Smoke Yen
  25. Running Back
  26. Aquarian
  27. Into A Game
  28. Necromancer
  29. Octopus
  30. People You Were Going To
  31. Firebrand
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock