THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Voice of Elena Souliotis

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Voice of Elena Souliotis
The Voice of Elena Souliotis


Elena Souliotis, hailed as a successor to Maria Callas, resembled a comet that flashed brightly across the operatic scene and was all too soon extinguished. With a lifelong love of horseriding and the outdoors, she often commented that she preferred animals to people. She spent much of her childhood in the spectacular garden of her parents' home in Buenos Aires, only starting to train her voice when she was 16.While she was active, she recorded some memorable discs for Decca in the mid-1960s, most of the 'plums' of which are included here, recalling the excitement she then created. This collection, which first appeared on Decca's 'Grandi Voci' series, includes a complete recital recorded by Decca; Santuzza's aria 'Voi lo sapete' from the complete recording of Mascagni's Cavalleria Rusticana, and items by Verdi and Ponchielli recorded at the same sessions under Silvio Varviso. Also included are one of her calling cards, Abigaille's terrifying Act II scena 'Ben io t'invenni' from the complete and much-prized recording of Verdi's Nabucco by Lamberto Gardelli, and an aria from Donizetti's Anna Bolena. As Alan Blyth who wrote the original liner notes remarks: 'It is good to be reminded of her achievement by the reappearance of these interpretations and to hear again, in an age of too many mundane and orthodox singers, such a splendidly uninhibited artist, one who could rouse an audience to a frenzy through her singing and her acting.' 'What can one say about the voice? It was enormous, with that booming lower register, but also a lovely plangent quality in the middle.' Christopher Raeburn on Elena Souliotis ''Everything I cherish in song and singing are embodied in her voice and her musical instincts' Harold Rosenthal, editor Opera magazine


  1. Name
  2. Ben Io T'invenni... Anch' Io Dischiuso Un Giorno...Salgo Gia Del Trono Aurato - Elena Souliotis
  3. Nel Di Della Vittoria Io Le Incontrai ... Ambizioso Spirto ... Vieni T'affretta!...Or Tutti Sorgete
  4. Nu Puniscimi, O Signore...A Brani, a Brani, O Perfido - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra dell'Opera di Roma
  5. Morrò, Ma Prima in Grazia - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra dell'Opera di Roma
  6. Piangete Voi?...Al Dolce Guidami Castel Natio - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra dell'Opera di Roma
  7. Voi Lo Sapete - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra di Roma
  8. Ecco L'orrido Campo...Ma Dall'arido Stelo - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra di Roma
  9. Pace, Pace, Mio Dio - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra di Roma
  10. Suicidio! - Elena Souliotis/Orchestra di Roma
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite