THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Irmgard Seefried - Vol.2: Opera Arias (Mozart, Weber, Thomas, Lortzing & Strauss)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Irmgard Seefried - Vol.2: Opera Arias (Mozart, Weber, Thomas, Lortzing & Strauss)
Irmgard Seefried - Vol.2: Opera Arias (Mozart, Weber, Thomas, Lortzing & Strauss)


"If I were condemned to hear only one voice for the remainder of my life I think it might well be hers. If I wanted to be charmed, to laugh or cry I would find her the perfect companion. In her singing we hear someone whose every utterance bespeaks natural sincerity and truthful feeling" - Alan Blyth on Irmgard Seefried (Gramophone). Freshness, spontaneity, natural warmth of feeling, allied to a voice of gleaming beauty and a delightful stage presence: these were the hallmarks of a much-loved soprano who for three decades charmed and moved audiences in the theatre and concert hall, her face as expressive as her voice. As John Steane memorably put it in Gramophone, "it was as though she wore her own spotlight". Born in the Swabian town of Köngetried in 1919, Seefried was 'discovered', aged twenty, by Herbert von Karajan in Aachen, where she made her operatic debut as the Priestess in Aida. In 1943 she sang Eva in Die Meistersinger for the Wiener Staatsoper, initiating an association that lasted until 1976. It was in Strauss and Mozart that Seefried was most admired. Issued over eleven single-disc volumes, Deutsche Grammophon / Eloquence pays tribute to Irmgard Seefried, bringing back to circulation several recordings that have never previously been issued on CD. The music ranges through opera and oratorio, with an especially generous offering of art song from a range of composers, including Schubert, Schumann, Wolf, Hindemith and Egk. The notes for the series have been written by that leading connoisseur of the voice, Richard Wigmore. Volume 2 showcases Seefried in further operatic roles including such rarities as Lortzing's Der Wildschütz and Thomas's Mignon in which Seefried performed the mezzo role of the waif Mignon on stage, in German translation (then the norm in German opera houses), and recorded two of her arias. With her viola-like warmth of tone and dramatic immediacy, Seefried was Jochum's unhesitating choice as the heroine Agathe in Der Freischütz. Octavian - which she often played opposite Schwarzkopf's Sophie or Marschallin - became another signature role and the disc presents nearly 40 minutes of music from Der Rosenkavalier in the 1958 Dresden recording conducted by Karl Böhm.


  1. Name
  2. WOLFGANG AMADEUS MMOZART Così Fan Tutte, KV 588 1 Sorella Prenderò Quel Brunettino (with Nan Merriman, Soprano)
  3. CARL MARIA VON WEBER Der Freischütz 2 Wie Nahte Leise, Leise, Fromme Weise
  4. Und Ob Die Wolke Sie Verhülle
  5. AMBROISE THOMAS Mignon 4 Kam Ein Armes Kind Von Fern
  6. Dort Bei Ihm Ist Sie Jetzt
  7. GUSTAV ALBERT LORTZING Der Wildschütz - Auf Des Lebens Raschen Wogen
  8. RICHARD STRAUSS Der Rosenkavalier -Wie Du Warst! Wie Du Bist! (with Marianne Schech, Soprano)
  9. Rofrano! Mir Ist Die Ehre (with Rita Streich, Soprano Ilona Steingruber, Soprano)
  10. Nein, Nein! I Trink Kein Wein (with Kurt Böhme, Bass)
  11. Marie Theres Hab Mirs Gelobt Ist Ein Traum (with Marianne Schech, Soprano Rita Streich, Soprano Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Baritone)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite