THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Alicia De Larrocha The First Recordings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:
Alicia De Larrocha  The First Recordings
Alicia De Larrocha  The First Recordings


A series of reissues on Eloquence (see has served to remind listeners around the world of the mastery of Alicia de Larrocha in repertoire ranging far beyond her native Spain, from Bach to Rachmaninov (including the Third Concerto with the LSO and André Previn, newly available on 482 0725). However, as Fanfare magazine noted in 1990, her dominance of Spanish piano music recordings over the last thirty years has put her in the position where her most formidable competition is usually herself. That dominance began with recordings Larrochas first made in New York by American Decca during 195455. These are now reissued collectively on CD. They include many of the classics of the Spanish piano repertoire: the Danzas Españolas and Goyescas of Granados, Danzas fantásticas of Turina and Danzas de España of Rodrigo principal among them. In later recordings de Larrocha would go on to refine certain details, but the seamless legato, sparkling fingerwork and unmatched evocation of mood were there from the beginning, as critics were not slow to recognize: when the Goyescas were first issued in October 1955, Gramophone magazine proclaimed that of the five available recordings, honours go to Deccas Alicia de Larrocha, one with style, technique and colour. In August the following year, Lionel Salter observed of the same recordings that her technique is impeccable and sparkling, and articulation faultlessly clear-cut: Miss Larrocha has abundant vitality and, in El Pelele, clearly, fantasy too. De Larrocha herself was a reluctant recording artist. The personal sound of the artist becomes lost, and without that, there is nothing, she remarked: a testament to the perfectionist temperament recalled in a specially written tribute for the booklet of this release by the pianists daughter, Alicia Torra. She goes on to note that of the five composers who appear in this set, her mother personally met four of them: Turina, Esplá, Rodrigo and especially Mompou, with whom she maintained a close friendship. In fact it was her playing of the fifth, Granados, that dazzled early listeners such as the American critic Harold C. Schonberg: Obviously this music is in the pianists blood. She invested it with a degree of life and imagination that not many pianists before the public today could begin to duplicate. The booklet also includes rare photographs and a manuscript autographed by Turina himself for the little Alicia. Miss Larrocha strikes me as one of the very best pianists to have come out of Spain in recent years. She has an impeccably clean technique, considerable strength, verve and temperament, but a level enough head to keep her from exaggerating effects Her tonal sense and phrasing are exemplary. Gramophone, December 1955 (Turina)


  1. Name
  2. ÓSCAR ESPLÁ 13Sonata Española, Op. 53
  3. JOAQUÍN RODRIGO 46Tres Danzas De España
  4. ENRIQUE GRANADOS 71812 Danzas Españolas
  5. JOAQUÍN TURINA 13Danzas Fantásticas
  6. Preludios, Op. 80 (Ciclo Pianístico VII)
  7. Partita In C Major, Op. 57 (Ciclo Pianístico II)
  8. ENRIQUE GRANADOS 1722Escenas Románticas
  9. Goyescas, O Los Majos Enamorados
  10. El Pelele
  11. FREDERIC MOMPOU 816Impresiones íntimas
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock