THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Mendelssohn: Overtures; Schubert: Rosamunde

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Mendelssohn: Overtures; Schubert: Rosamunde
Mendelssohn: Overtures; Schubert: Rosamunde


Two original Decca releases of the Vienna Philharmonic in early-Romantic repertoire, freshly compiled and newly remastered. I am an exponent of an old tradition, remarked Carl Schuricht. I have nothing against the music of today, but I feel it is important to rejuvenate the sense of tradition. This he did throughout a distinguished career, which included relationships with all the great European orchestras, including a ready understanding with the Vienna Philharmonic. Working with them he was observed by the young Seiji Ozawa, who reflected later that his music did not let me feel his age, or rather it sounded more vividly than that by any younger conductors. Schuricht had a flair for Mendelssohn, and conducted the overtures throughout his career, including late recordings with a German radio orchestra, but these Decca sessions from June 1954 surpass them for refinement of execution as well as deftness of conception. Originally coupled with excerpts from A Midsummer Nights Dream on an RCA LP, Pierre Monteuxs recording of incidental music from Rosamunde was belatedly repatriated to Decca in the 1970s as part of the labels familiar World Of series. The Ballet Music No. 1 was omitted on previous CD reissues and is now duly restored for this Eloquence release. Schuricht and the Vienna Philharmonic make a first-rate job of the performances, while Decca have left no stone unturned in the accurate and admirable recording of this great orchestra. Gramophone, December 1954 (Mendelssohn) This stereo version of Monteuxs enchanting conducting is as attractive as I found its mono predecessor The conducting and the Vienna Philharmonics playing are a continual delight he conducts the Rosamunde pieces with such real affection. Gramophone, June 1959 (Schubert)


  1. Name
  2. MENDELSSOHN: The Hebrides (Fingals Cave): Overture, Op. 26
  3. Meeresstille Und Glückliche Fahrt: Overture, Op. 27
  4. Die Schöne Melusine: Overture, Op. 32
  5. Ruy Blas: Overture, Op. 95
  6. SCHUBERT: Rosamunde, D.797 (excerpts) - Overture (Die Zauberharfe, D.644)
  7. Entracte No. 3 Andantino
  8. Ballet Music No. 1
  9. Ballet Music No. 2
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock