THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

BACH: Violin Concertos. VIVALDI: The Four Seasons

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
BACH: Violin Concertos. VIVALDI: The Four Seasons
BACH: Violin Concertos. VIVALDI: The Four Seasons


For all the popularity and reinvention that now surrounds Antonio Vivaldis collected violin concertos known as The Four Seasons, it is difficult to believe there was a time when they were completely unknown. Like Vivaldi himself, whose once lofty reputation fell into complete obscurity following his death in Vienna in 1741, The Four Seasons travelled through the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries utterly forgotten, lying in musical obscurity until Vivaldi and his works were rediscovered in the 1930s and 1940s. Since then, The Four Seasons has risen to the top of Vivaldis oeuvre, performed and recorded routinely throughout the world, almost single-handedly placing Vivaldis reputation among the greats. Salvatore Accardos award-winning recording here features performances on instruments made by the famous Antonio Stradivari. Spring features the 1715 Stradivari violin known as Il Cremonese, once owned by Joseph Joachim and now in the possession of the City of Cremona. Summer features the 1727 Stradivari violin known as the Ex-Raynier. Autumn features the 1718 Stradivari violin known as the Firebird. Winter features the ex-Francescatti 1727 Stradivari violin known as the Hart. All three of these instruments are (or were at the time) owned by Salvatore Accardo, who brings the particular qualities of each of the four instruments to full effect in these concertos. Like Vivaldi, Johann Sebastian Bach was raised in a musical household and taught violin by his father from a young age; unlike his Italian counterpart however, Bachs contribution to the violin concerto repertoire is minimal, with only a handful of well-crafted, beguiling gems having survived. Included here are the A minor, E major and the Double Concerto, but this selection extends to include other concertos Accardo recorded in 1985 with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe the concerto for Violin and Oboe, as well as rare arrangements of the F minor and D minor Keyboard concertos, the latter arranged by Accardo himself. This is a recording that happily bridges the divide between middle of the road and authentic and one that should please devotees of either species; it conveys, vividly but not theatrically, the spirit of the music and without misrepresentation. (Vivaldi) Gramophone, December 1988 Philips offers superior recording (Bach) Fanfare, July/August 1987 The sound is first-rate (Vivaldi) Fanfare, May/June 1989


  1. Name
  2. BACH Violin Concerto No. 1 In A Minor, BWV 1041
  3. Violin Concerto No. 2 In E Major, BWV 1042
  4. Concerto In D Minor For Two Violins, Strings And Continuo, BWV 1043
  5. Concerto In C Minor For Two Harpsichords, Strings And Continuo, BWV 1060
  6. Concerto In F Minor For Harpsichord And Strings, BWV 1056
  7. BACH 13 Concerto No. 1 In D Minor For Harpsichord, Strings And Continuo, BWV 1052
  8. VIVALDI Concertos For Violin, Strings And Continuo, Op. 8 Nos. 14 The Four Seasons La Primavera
  9. Concerto In G Minor For Violin, Strings And Continuo, Op. 8 No. 2, RV 315 Lestate (Summer)
  10. Concerto In F Major For Violin, Strings And Continuo, Op. 8 No. 3, RV 293 Lautunno (Autumn)
  11. Concerto In F Minor For Violin, Strings And Continuo, Op. 8 No. 4, RV 297 Linverno (Winter)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock