THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Wolf, Weber, Wagner: Orchestral Works

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Wolf, Weber, Wagner: Orchestral Works
Wolf, Weber, Wagner: Orchestral Works


During the golden age of LP, Horst Stein was among a select band of central-European conductors (Vaclav Neumann and Otmar Suitner another two notable examples) revered by Japanese orchestras and audiences, perhaps more than their Western counterparts. They had an uncomplicated mastery of the repertoire that shunned interpretative eccentricity and plugged listeners in to a strong current of cultivated orchestral sonority which seemed to grow from and continue a Kapellmeister lineage that built the great orchestras of the world in the first place. As chief conductor of the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Stein made recordings of Sibelius that have been prized since their first issue, and have been collected together on another Eloquence release (4823922). The present release returns to Steins heartland of German Romanticism. Indeed the progression from Weber to Wagner to Wolf traces the eventful development of the Romantic movement in music over 80 years, from the daring, post-Schubertian harmonies of Webers Symphony (no less touched by lyric genius than his music for the stage) to the tumultuous and multi-climactic tone-poem that is Wolfs Penthesilea, which tells the story of an Amazon queens gruesome revenge for thwarted passion. Especially for the superb playing Stein gets from the VPO this is much to be recommended. (Wagner) Gramophone, July 1974 Steins gifts as a Wagner conductor have enabled him to see the richness and depth already glimpsed [] in the remarkable Andante. (Weber: Symphony) Gramophone, September 1978 Steins persuasive performance makes no apologies for the work an important rediscovery. (Wolf: Penthesilea) Gramophone, February 1982


  1. Name
  2. HUGO WOLF Penthesilea: Symphonic Poem After Kleist*
  3. Der Corregidor Orchestral Suite (Arr. Hans Gál)*
  4. CARL MARIA VON WEBER Symphony No. 1 In C Major, Op. 19*
  5. CARL MARIA VON WEBER Aufforderung Zum Tanze, Op. 65 (orch. Berlioz)
  6. Euryanthe: Overture, J.291
  7. Der Beherrscher Der Geister: Overture, J.122
  8. Abu Hassan: Overture, J.106
  9. RICHARD WAGNER Der Fliegende Holländer: Overture
  10. Lohengrin Prelude To Act I
  11. Lohengrin Prelude To Act III
  12. Die Meistersinger Von Nürnberg: Prelude To Act I
  13. Tristan Und Isolde: Prelude And Liebestod
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite