THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Kaleidoscope - An Orchestral Extravaganza

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Kaleidoscope - An Orchestral Extravaganza
Kaleidoscope - An Orchestral Extravaganza


Mercury, Philips and Decca recordings of orchestral pops conducted by the supremely versatile Sir Charles Mackerras, including a pair of Strauss overtures new to CD. Few conductors, if any, have demonstrated the sheer versatility of Charles Mackerras. He could turn his sharp ear and his unfussy baton technique to every corner of classical repertoire, and early in his career, he conducted many recordings of popular ballet and symphonic repertoire for a range of record labels. The present collection revives the first-ever album he made for Decca in May 1958, of works by Grieg and Sibelius which were originally issued under RCAs Living Stereo livery. The orchestra was probably the New Symphony Orchestra of London, renamed for contractual reasons. Three years later, Mackerras and the LSO recorded an enterprising selection of overtures and showpieces with brilliantly lifelike Mercury Living Presence engineering. Issued as Kaleidoscope, these recordings were originally scheduled as fillers for the sessions of Sviatoslav Richters legendary Liszt concerto album, and indeed Nicolais overture to The Merry Wives of Windsor was actually taped while a new piano was being delivered to the venue at Richters demand. This newly remastered collection is completed by two more rarities from the conductors long relationship with the LSO: incisive accounts of the overtures to Die Fledermaus and Der Zigeunerbaron, recorded for Philips in 1965 and long unavailable in any format, but distinguished by playing out of the top drawer. Mackerras has a way with this music. His performances are spirited, and he elicits crisp, clean sounds from the orchestra A most faithful recording, with exceptionally naturalistic, resinous sounds from the strings. High Fidelity, February 1963 (Kaleidoscope) The performances reveal all the zest, colour and care for detail that have been a hallmark of Mackerrass music-making ever since The sound was in the demonstration bracket in its time and remains remarkable for its tangibility. Gramophone, December 1995 (Kaleidoscope) *FIRST CD RELEASE ON DECCA


  1. Name
  2. JOHANN STRAUSS I: Radetzky-Marsch
  3. JOHAN STRAUSS II: Die Fledermaus Overture
  4. Der Zigeunerbaron Overture
  5. JOHANNES BRAHMS: Hungarian Dances Nos. 1, 20* & 21*
  6. JACQUES OFFENBACH: Overture & Can-Can (Orphee Aux Enfers)
  7. PIOTR ILYICH TCHAIKOVSKY: Cossack Dance (Mazeppa)
  8. BEDRICH SMETANA: Dance Of The Comedians (The Bartered Bride)
  9. OTTO NICOLAI: Die Lustigen Weiber Von Windsor Overture
  10. CARL MARIA VON WEBE: Abu Hassan Overture
  11. AMBROISE THOMAS: Mignon Overture
  12. FRANZ VON SUPPE: Banditenstreiche Overture
  13. CARL MARIA VON WEBER: Invitation To The Dance (orch. Berlioz)
  14. GIACOMO MEYERBEER: Coronation March (Le Prophete)
  15. MIKHAIL GLINKA: Jota Aragonesa (Caprice Brillant)
  16. EDVARD GRIEG: Two Elegiac Melodies*
  17. Cowkeepers Tune & Country Dance*
  18. Wedding Day At Troldhaugen*
  19. JEAN SIBELIUS: Valse Triste
  20. Elegy & Musette (King Christian Suite)
  21. Entracte (Pelleas Et Melisande)
  22. Finlandia, Op. 26
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock