THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Complete Philips Recordings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
The Complete Philips Recordings
The Complete Philips Recordings


A newly remastered, richly documented set celebrating the art of a Spanish Beethoven specialist recorded at the peak of his powers in the late 1950s, some of it released onto CD for the first time. Born in Zaragoza in 1905, Eduardo del Pueyo left Spain in 1920 to enter the Paris Conservatoire, but rejected the teaching of Marguerite Long outright. In thrall to Beethoven's genius in particular, he chose instead to become, as it were, a great-grand pupil of Franz Liszt through the example of Marie Jaëll, as passed down to Jeanne Bosch van's Gravemoer. In its strength and sense of scale, Del Pueyo's playing as recorded here makes him a worthy inheritor of the Jaëll method. His playing is based on absolute respect for the musical text, shorn of false pathos but all the more sensitively expressive because the expressions flows from a lucid musical line. Having withdrawn from public performance for a period of reflection and private study, Del Pueyo brought freshly reconsidered cycles of the Beethoven sonatas to audiences across Europe in the late 1930s, and audiences (especially in Germany) thrilled to a Beethoven for their time, where everything was audible, and whose steely rigour set the composer free from sentimentality, much as Erdmann and Schnabel were doing in their own ways. Del Pueyo recorded a complete Beethoven cycle much later in his career, but these Philips recordings of ten sonatas, mastered from the original tapes for CD, date from 1958 when, having settled in Brussels, he followed up naturally idiomatic accounts of Falla and Granados with an abortive cycle, beginning at the summit with the 'Hammerklavier'. The urgency with which he launches into the imperious chords at the opening are a good indication of where radical playing immediately places the listener: this is Beethoven playing that really counts for something. Del Pueyo closed his Philips contract in 1960 with Franck and Bach: a poised, radiant and simple account of the Italian Concerto, and a First Partita concluding with a remarkable account of the Gigue where he barely seems to touch the keyboard. It sets the seal on another piano release of exceptional historical significance from Eloquence. 'Del Pueyo plays Nights in the Gardens of Spain with exceptional feeling for the style.' High Fidelity, March 1957 '[The Danzas espanolas] are played extremely well by del Pueyo, who appears to be a fine technician and a thoughtful stylist.' High Fidelity, March 1958 'I found myself thoroughly interested in his version of the "Hammerklavier" even though I did not always agree with his view of it he plays the "Les Adieux" Sonata most beautifully.' Gramophone, November 1959.


  1. Name
  2. FRANCK Prélude, Chorale Et Fugue
  3. J.S. BACH Italian Concerto In F Major, BWV 971
  4. Partita No. 1 In B Flat Major, BWV 825
  5. VAN BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 21 In C Major, Op. 53 Waldstein
  6. BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 8 In C Minor, Op. 13 Pathétique
  7. Piano Sonata No. 23 In F Minor, Op. 57 Appassionata
  8. Piano Sonata No. 18 In E Flat Major, Op. 31 No. 3 The Hunt
  9. BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 14 In C Sharp Minor, Op. 27 No. 2 Moonlight
  10. Piano Sonata No. 26 In E Flat Major, Op. 81° Les Adieux
  11. Piano Sonata No. 29 In B Flat Major, Op. 106 Hammerklavier
  12. ENRIQUE GRANADOS Danzas Espa 144olas, Op. 37
  13. Goyescas
  14. MANUEL DE FALLA Noches En Los Jardines De Espa 144a
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock