THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Mozart & Haydn Recordings On Mercury Living

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:
The Mozart & Haydn Recordings On Mercury Living
The Mozart & Haydn Recordings On Mercury Living


Antal Doratis complete Haydn and Mozart recordings for Mercury, predating his landmark collection of the Haydn cycle for Decca. In 1966 the Stereo Review critic made a prescient observation: Dorati here establishes himself as a first-rate Haydn conductor. There is the passion of advocacy as well as the foundational principles of his Haydn performing style in these early recordings: Only a few of his works were done and were always repeated,Dorati remarked in interview. The reason for that, I think, is just human modesty. The taste of a public is modest; they are satisfied with little. But that is why we are here to show them a wider horizon Haydn began as a talent and ended up as a genius. Unlike many of his colleagues, Dorati took pleasure in the process of recording, establishing a happy and concordant working relationship with the husband-and-wife Mercury team of Robert and Wilma Cozart Fine. One of the first fruits of that relationship was a pairing of Mozarts 40th and Mendelssohns 4th symphonies, made in Minneapolis where Dorati was music director and released in 1953 (the Italian has been reissued separately by Eloquence, coupled with Doratis Schumann and more Mendelssohn, 484 0506). There followed Eine kleine Nachtmusik coupled with the Linz in 1956, and a stereo remake of the 40th in 1961. The rarity here is the Mozartiana LP from 1967, gathering up the Overture to Lucio Silla with marches and dances, and never previously issued complete on CD. In the meanwhile, Dorati had embarked upon what would be the largest Haydn discography of any conductor with the Farewell Symphony, from the same sessions as the stereo remake of Mozarts 40th. He picked a judicious path through mostly named symphonies (Fire, Surprise, Military, Clock and Drum Roll) calculated to appeal to consumers hitherto hardly familiar with the extent of Haydns symphonic achievement, conducting the LSO, the Bath Festival Orchestra (Festival Chamber Orchestra) and his own Philharmonia Hungarica. The fire and brilliance of these early recordings sometimes exceeds the later Decca remakes within Doratis complete cycle. There is a great deal of vitality The LSO plays with spirit and refinement and every detail of orchestration is clearly caught; the Turkish music in Symphony No. 100 is quite overwhelming. Gramophone, September 1958 (Haydn Nos. 100 & 101) The finales, so often rushed, are very nicely paced; the gain in clarity makes them sound more brilliant, not less. This is true of the whole of the Surprise. Gramophone, May 1961 (Haydn Nos. 94 & 103) Dorati gets feeling as well as precision and polish from his men. Except for one or two frantic trills in the high horns in No. 59, the orchestra turns in a first-class performance. High Fidelity, March 1966 (Haydn Nos. 59 & 81) A fine synthesis of lyrical resiliency and zestful vitality is evident throughout both of these performances. The Mercury recording, done in London, has sparkle, bite, and weight. Stereo Review, May 1966 (Haydn Nos. 59 & 81) Both of these popular symphonies are given firm, vital readings, employing a large but not swollen orchestra. The precision of the playing is outstanding, and the individual instrumental contributions are beautifully realized. Stereo Review, July 1965 (Haydn Nos. 94 & 100) Dorati has frequently shown himself to be an unusually perceptive conductor of the symphonies of Haydn and Mozart, and this is the case with his recording of the Linz, a fleet and intimate performance that also has considerable poetry. It is splendidly played by the London Symphony Orchestra and recorded with transparent clarity. Stereo Review * FIRST CD RELEASE ON DECCA


  1. Name
  2. MOZART: Symphony No. 40 (mono Recording)*
  3. Le Nozze Di Figaro: Overture*
  4. Lucio Silla: Overture
  5. Two Marches, KV 335
  6. March, KV 249
  7. Minuet, KV 409
  8. Three German Dances, KV 605
  9. Serenade, KV 525 Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
  10. Symphony No. 36 Linz*
  11. Symphony No. 40 (stereo Recording)*
  12. HAYDN: Symphony No. 59 Fire*
  13. Symphony No. 45 Farewell*
  14. Symphony No. 81*
  15. Symphony No. 94 Surprise*
  16. Symphony No. 100 Military*
  17. Symphony No. 101 The Clock*
  18. Symphony No. 103 Drum Roll*
  19. MOZART: Symphony No. 51, KV 196/121: Allegro
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide