THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Saturday Nite

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Saturday Nite
Saturday Nite


Roy Brown (1925-1981) was a pioneering rhythm 'n' blues star who had a major impact on the development of rock 'n' roll. Ironically his own hit run dried up during that explosive era but that was more because of lack of promotion than anything lacking in the power of his recordings. This release explores those forgotten R&B classics that Syd Nathan begrudgingly released on his main King label between 1953 and 1955. None of them enjoyed a whiff of chart action, even though the likes of "Hurry Hurry Baby", "Fanny Brown Got Married" and "Black Diamond" were as good a black rock 'n' roll record as anything Joe Turner and Wynonie Harris recorded during the same period. The 29 track set is completed by the inclusion of the best of Roy's early sessions for Imperial including rock 'n' roll club classic "Saturday Night".


  1. Name
  2. Hurry, Hurry Baby
  3. Old Age Boogie (Parts 1 & 2)
  4. Laughing But Crying
  5. Grandpa Stole My Baby
  6. Money Can't Buy Love
  7. Letter From Home
  8. Midnight Lover Man
  9. Mr Hound Dog's In Town
  10. Caldonia's Wedding Day
  11. Trouble At Midnight
  12. Crazy, Crazy Women
  13. Everything's All Right
  14. Bootleggin' Baby
  15. No Love At All
  16. Up Jumped The Devil
  17. Don't Let It Rain
  18. Ain't No Rockin' No More
  19. Queen Of Diamonds
  20. Gal From Kokomo
  21. Worried Life Blues
  22. Fanny Brown Got Married
  23. Black Diamond
  24. Shake 'Em Up Baby
  25. Saturday Nite
  26. Everybody
  27. The Tick Of The Clock
  28. I'm Stickin' With You
  29. Party Doll
  30. Let The Four Winds Blow
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite