THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Distance

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Distance
The Distance


The Distance is the fourth album released by The Phil Langran Band. Phil Langran's songs are a powerful combination of immediacy and slow-burning subtlety. Their melodies instantly take up residence in the mind while the lyrics pack a considerable emotional punch.

This is set off to great effect by Phil's line in dry, laconic humour which accompanies the live shows. The songs and lyrics are masterpieces of succinctness, and seem to work effortlessly on several levels, belying the craftsmanship that has gone into their making. Phil is not only a fine musician but also a writer steeped in the poetic traditions of Robert Frost and Langston Hughes. The result is a brilliant intertwining of Americana, Celtic, Folk and Blues themes in distinctive original songs. Like all the best songwriters, Phil has created his own genre, where Harlem nights and New York cityscapes rub shoulders with the west coast of Ireland and scenes from Werner Herzog's films.

The Distance represents another collection of fine original songs from The Phil Langran Band with it's opening track 'Time's Dark Wing' receiving high praise from some notable contemporaries:

"Oh that is lovely. A good song and very moving performance. I am very pleased to have listened to that before bed." - Teddy Thompson

"That's a great tune. Prine & Van Zandt would approve!" - Roddy Woomble

"I love that song so much." - Kathryn Williams


  1. Name
  2. Time's Dark Wing
  3. The Distance
  4. Jesse's Gone
  5. Kitty Tyrell/Sky Gathering
  6. Whose Angel Child
  7. You've Got To Love This Road
  8. In The Fall
  9. The Rule Of The Heart
  10. The Long Home
  11. To Be Continued
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock