THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Who We Are

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Who We Are
Who We Are


Marking their 20th Anniversary, Chris While and Julie Matthews now release their ninth studio album on the FatCat label. "Who We Are" finds While and Matthews in full creative flow and once again showcases their diversity as both musicians and songwriters. The eleven new songs stand comparison with any of their best and range from heartfelt observations of our human frailty to uplifting celebrations of the enduring human spirit. The album which opens with "If This Were Your Last Day", written by Matthews, is an optimistic, energetic song that asks what you would do if this were indeed your last day. It has all the hallmarks of a classic daytime radio track. "White Feather", written by Matthews for BBC Radio 2's forthcoming series The Ballads Of The Great War is a powerful reflection of the white feather movement in World War I. "Drop Hammer", written by While, celebrates the women of Sheffield who kept the steel industry running during both World Wars and features a rich chorus of Yorkshire 'factory girls' Belinda O'Hooley and Heidi Tidow, Kellie While, Kit Bailey, and Mel Ledgard. "Dancing Under The Gallows" is Matthews' tribute to Alice Hertz Sommer, the oldest survivor of the Holocaust who died earlier this year at the age of 111. Produced in a genre that crosses the boundaries of contemporary British Folk, Americana and Country, "Who We Are" is the product of a sound honed and defined across two decades of writing and performing together. "Two of my favourite singer-songwriters in the whole wide world." Beth Nielsen Chapman "These women far outclass their many famous American cousins, and prove just how immediate and powerful well-written and performed music can still be. Awe- inspiring." Dirty Linen


  1. Name
  2. If This Were Your Last Day
  3. Gone Girl Gone
  4. Get Through This Somehow
  5. I Don't Know
  6. Dancing Under The Gallows
  7. Heaven Is Changing
  8. Drop Hammer
  9. White Feather
  10. Mad Men
  11. That's Not Who We Are
  12. Under A Button Moon
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite