Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Vagrant Kings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Vagrant Kings
The Vagrant Kings


Joe Topping and his band, The Vagrant Kings are a brand new group that bring a highly original and exciting new sound to the Blues, Americana and Folk scene. With sophisticated song writing, intricate bottleneck slide guitar, Hammond organ, pedal steel and percussion, all combining to create a unique and fresh musical soundscape. The Vagrant Kings is named after the band of stella musicians Joe assembled to record this album. It was recorded in Steve Parry's home studio using Steve's wonderful collection of vintage mics. Joe Topping is a singer-songwriter who has been described as a "cross between Ry Cooder, Woody Guthrie and Paul Brady". From the traditional music heard in the Folk clubs he grew up around, to the Americana and Blues influences from his adventures in the USA, which have included driving around America for the best part of a year and later walking 1400 miles with a guitar on his back from Chicago to New Orleans! Joe has developed his own unique bottleneck guitar style and has a voice that can move from velvet soft to steely and powerful. Joe has played on stage and in the studio with many legends of the British folk scene including members of Fairport Convention, While and Matthews, Andy Irvine and most recently as stand in lead vocalist in the BBC2 award winning "Best Live Act" Home Service whilst John Tams recovered from surgery. Joe also currently plays in the bands Elbow Jane and The Rainbow Chasers with Ashley Hutchings. This is his second solo album for Fellside.


  1. Name
  2. No Matter Where I Ramble
  3. Cat On A Cold Slate Roof
  4. I'm Not Gonna Worry
  5. Heartbroken Blues
  6. This Love And Lack Of Money
  7. Leaves On The Line
  8. Put The Ground Beneath My Feet
  9. One Beat Away
  10. Redemption
  11. The Ballad Of William Burke
  12. Sweet Sixteen
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite