THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Reinventing Richard: The Songs Of Richard Farina

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Reinventing Richard: The Songs Of Richard Farina
Reinventing Richard: The Songs Of Richard Farina


Plainsong have reconvened to commemorate Richard Fariña - one of the very finest mid-sixties songwriters. Richard Fariña (March 8, 1937 - April 30, 1966) - confidante of Bob Dylan, Joan Baez and Thomas Pynchon - was tragically killed in a motorcycle accident fifty years ago. He is largely remembered for two magical albums recorded with Mimi (younger sister of Joan Baez) which helped to create folk-rock, 'Celebrations for a Grey Day' (1965) chosen by Robert Shelton of the New York Times as one of the ten best folk albums of the year, and 'Reflections in a Crystal Wind' (1965). Fariña's debut novel 'Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up To Me' was published in 1966. Plainsong - founded by Iain Matthews and Andy Roberts in 1972 - have championed Fariña's songwriting since the group's inception. With Reinventing Richard they have produced a classic album that imagines how his songs might have sounded, if written and first recorded in a 21st century electro/acoustic setting. Includes 'Sombre Winds' - a previously unrecorded Fariña composition.


  1. Name
  2. The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood - Prelude
  3. Pack Up Your Sorrows
  4. Sell-Out Agitation Waltz
  5. One Way Ticket
  6. Another Country
  7. Lemonade Lady
  8. Mainline Prosperity Blues
  9. The Falcon
  10. Almond Joy
  11. Hard Lovin' Loser
  12. Michael, Andrew And James
  13. Children Of Darkness
  14. Reflections In A Crystal Wind
  15. Sombre Winds
  16. The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood - Conclusion
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock