THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Memories & Moments

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Memories & Moments
Memories & Moments


The prayers of roots-music fans will at long last be answered on Sept. 16, with the release of Memories & Moments, the second studio album from highly regarded writer/singer/multi-instrumentalists Tim O'Brien and Darrell Scott, released on their newly formed Full Skies imprint, a compound of O'Brien's Howdy Skies and Scott's Full Light labels. Comprising five songs apiece from O'Brien and Scott plus one memorable collaboration in their timely "Turn Your Dirty Lights On," along with a pair of chestnuts from Hank Williams and George Jones and a spirited rendition of the John Prine classic "Paradise," with its author guesting on guitar and vocals, Memories & Moments is a face-to-face record by design. "Our strength is playing in the moment," says Scott, "so if you record that way, with us across from each other, leaking into each other's mics, there's an immediacy to it that translates to the listener. That's our hope, anyway." "We wanted to keep that intimate feeling," O'Brien adds. "It's rare that you can play with somebody who can respond and magnify like Darrell does. So except for the one track, this record is just the two of us reacting to one another, and it's a pretty good game of Ping-Pong. We end up doing stuff that neither of us would do on our own, and that's pretty cool." Recorded in a proper studio this time, the new album took only three days to complete. It's almost entirely just the two of them, with nary an overdub, fix or comp. Scott, the de facto producer, claims his job was to "kick us in the ass to do this, set dates months in advance, and once we were in there, stay out of the way and let it happen. Also available:'We're Usually A Lot Better Than This' 478923 'Real Time' FLR0501


  1. Name
  2. Time To Talk To Joseph
  3. It All Comes Down To Love
  4. Keep Your Dirty Lights On
  5. Brother Wind
  6. Memories And Moments
  7. Paradise
  8. Just One More
  9. Fiddler Jones
  10. The Well
  11. Alone And Forsaken
  12. You Don't Own Me
  13. Angel's Blue Eyes
  14. Free Again
  15. On Life's Other Side
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide