THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Steppin' Out (Bonus Tracks Edition)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Steppin' Out (Bonus Tracks Edition)
Steppin' Out (Bonus Tracks Edition)


Formed in Chicago, Illinois in 1959, The Chi-lites were originally called the Hi-Lites, but had to change their name as there was a similarity with another groups name at the time. The 'C' in the groups 'Chi-Lites' name derived from their hometown's city, Chicago. Prior to the first incarnation Eugene Record, Clarence Johnson and Robert Lester recorded with the group The Chanteurs, who released material on the Renee Records imprint in 1959. By 1968, the group had been signed to the Brunswick Records imprint, where Eugene began his long and fruitful collaboration with, the singer / songwriter, Barbara Acklin. In 1969 they acheived their first national hit with the song 'Give It Away' beginning a successful period that would reap many musical rewards throughout the Seventies. In 1971, they released the song 'Have You Seen Her', which charted in the U.S. and the U.K. respectively, reaching the number 3 spot. There then followed a series of chart entries, including 'Oh Girl' in 1972, 'Homely Girl' in 1974, 'It's Time For Love' in 1975 and 'You Don't Have To Go' in 1976.


  1. Name
  2. Do What You Want
  3. I Keep Comin' Back To You
  4. Gimme Whatcha Got
  5. Stop What You're Doin'
  6. Hey Girl (I Love The Way You Dance)
  7. Let Today Come Back Tomorrow
  8. Runnin' Around
  9. Little Girl
  10. Gimme Whatcha Got (7" Mix)
  11. Gimme Whatcha Got (Club Version)
  12. Gimme Whatcha Got (Dub Version)
  13. Stop What You're Doin' (Club Version)
  14. Stop What You're Doin' (Instrumental)
  15. Let Today Come Back Tomorrow (7" Mix)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide