Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

¡Vamos A Guarachar!

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
¡Vamos A Guarachar!
¡Vamos A Guarachar!


Something is stirring in downtown Tucson. Thats no great surprise perhaps: Calexico have been sending out missives from the desert for 20 years now, Giant Sand for even longer than that, and the Green on Red revival is surely overdue. These three giants of American popular music ask questions of the form, chiefly because of where they are situated. Let us remind ourselves that this isnt a big city in the American sense (its the countrys 33rd largest), but that its hinterland is indeed as big as it gets. For an hour south, Mexico starts. And this is where things get interesting.

Born in Nogales, Arizona, raised in Nogales, Sonora, multi-instrumentalist and band-leader Sergio Mendoza grew up listening to the Mexican regional styles jostling for headspace in a young, music-mad mind cumbia mainly, but mambo, rancheras and mariachi too. The border is always a fierce arena of exchange, both commercial and cultural, and so there was American music too. At one point rock and roll, the classics, as Mendoza himself deadpans, seemed to win out and he stopped playing those Latin styles for a good decade and a half.

The return to those sounds was a strong one in 2012s Mambo Mexicano, co-produced by Mendoza and Joey Burns of Calexico a band for which Mendoza has become an increasingly integral touring and recording member. While that record had a studied air, tentative in parts (as befits the renewal of an old love affair), ¡Vamos A Guarachar! is another beast entirely: by turns raucous (Cumbia Volcadora, featuring Mexican electronic pioneer Camilo Lara), tender (Misterio, surely Salvador Durans finest moment with the band so far) and plain serious fun, as in Contra La Marea and Mapache, it also bears a robust electronic edge, a keen pop sensibility and all the hallmarks of Mendozas love of 60s rock, with the closing track, Shadows of the Mind, sure to be included if anyone decides to update the Nuggets collection for the 21st century. This is roundabout way of saying that it appears to have everything, but never too much of anything. Focused, fierce and beautifully executed by a superbly drilled set of musicians, it is a record that fully matches the bands explosive live performances.

Nogales, Sonora, Nogales, Arizona: this is what the border looks like here for now. To talk about borders and the diasporas they create, is to be pitched headlong into our eras most urgent debate, marked by Trumps lurid obscenities and the lines being hastily reinstated across Europe. Orkesta Mendozas contribution to that debate is to show us what the border sounds like and what masterpieces can be achieved by honest cultural exchange. What we decide to do with that information is up to us. With this record, however, well have an awful lot of fun deciding.

You could, of course, take the trip to Tucson yourself, to the home of this essential set of field recordings. The scene hangs out together, so if the stars align and their frantic tour schedules permit, you might see any number of folks from Calexico, Giant Sand or up-and-coming cumbia rockers Xixa deep in conversation somewhere in town with a quiet young man in black. Thats Sergio. Right now, in this endless game of Tucson tag, Orkesta Mendoza are IT.


  1. Name
  2. Cumbia Volcadora
  3. Redoble
  4. Misterio
  5. Mapache
  6. Cumbia Amor De Lejos
  7. Mambo A La Rosano
  8. Caramelos
  9. No Volvere
  10. Contra La Marea
  11. Igual Que Ayer
  12. Nada Te Debo
  13. Shadows Of The Mind
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite