THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Constantijn Huygens: Pathoda Sacra Et Profana

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Constantijn Huygens: Pathoda Sacra Et Profana
Constantijn Huygens: Pathoda Sacra Et Profana


The surviving musical edition of Dutch Golden Age Renaissance Man, Constantijn Huygens, receives a fresh new recording issued on Glossa from a singer who has become a connoisseur of vocal music from the seventeenth century: Cyril Auvity. The remarkable Huygens, alive for much of that century, was a poet, composer and musician whose day job was as a diplomat working for the Princes of Orange and who was an assiduous correspondent with leading thinkers such as Descartes, Rubens and Corneille. Huygens 'Pathodia sacra et profana' encompasses a collection of songs in Italian, French and Latin whose simplicity belies the complexity of the emotions carried within them. Those emotions are admirably conveyed by a singer whose inquisitive musical intellect takes him down less frequented paths (such as two previously issued Charpentier albums on Glossa), and whose voice is rich and coloured and employed with a mastery of line. Singer and instrumentalists on this new recording have decided to record all the French airs from the Pathodia as well as an extensive selection of the Italian aria and Latin-texted Psalm settings. Reflecting the contemporary performances of such works by wealthy amateurs in the Dutch Republic, Myriam Rignol plays viola da gamba whilst Marie van Rhijn plays harpsichord, positive organ and the enigmatic Lautenwerck (a lute-harpsichord). Each of these instruments is additionally given an opportunity to be heard in solo music from Huygens time.


  1. Name
  2. Constantijn Huygens: Sospiro della sua donna
  3. Amor secreto
  4. Dilataverunt super me
  5. Ne crains point le serein
  6. Jacques Champion de Chambonnieres: Jeunes Zéphirs
  7. Constantijn: Avertisti faciem
  8. Que ferons nous, mon pauvre coeur ?
  9. In quo corriget
  10. Laetatus sum
  11. Gia ti chiesi un sospir
  12. Domine Deus meus
  13. Allemande for viola da gamba
  14. A dispetto de venti
  15. Che rumore sento fuore?
  16. Va, donna ingrata
  17. Quare tristis es
  18. Vous me laviez bien dit
  19. De profundis
  20. Luigi Rossi: Passacaille in A minor
  21. Le Réveil de Calliste
  22. Tu te trompes, Phillis
  23. Multi dicunt animae meae
  24. Caccia amorosa
  25. Graves tesmoins de mes délices
  26. Con la candida man
  27. Quoy Clorinde tu pars ?
  28. Johan Jacob Froberger: Toccata V in E minor
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite