THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Josquin Desprez: Laments, Deplorations And Dances Of Death

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Josquin Desprez: Laments, Deplorations And Dances Of Death
Josquin Desprez: Laments, Deplorations And Dances Of Death


Bjorn Schmelzer and his ensemble provide their special vision in this Josquin Desprez anniversary. With the conviction that Josquin, during his late years, produced works in sight of his own death, Graindelavoix renders compositions included in Tielman Susato's 1545 Antwerp print (Septiesme livre de chansons, published 24 years after the composer's life ended).

With an all-male vocal ensemble and a subtle instrumental accompaniment, Graindelavoix again goes beyond all standards and presents another ground-breaking interpretation of well-known repertoire.

Added to Josquin's compositions are three laments for his own death, written by Gombert, Vinders and Appenzeller.

Gombert's deploration Musae Jovis is one of his most breath-taking compositions, finishing with an exceptional dance a l'antique in which subterranean, terrestrial and heavenly elements indulge together praising the undead composer Josquin.


  1. Name
  2. Nicolas Gombert: Musae Jovis
  3. Josquin Desprez Baisiez Moy
  4. Parfons Regretz
  5. Cueur Langoreulx
  6. Faulte Dargent
  7. Petite Camusette
  8. Douleur Me Bat
  9. Nesse Pas Un Grant Desplaisir
  10. Jean Le Brun: Si Vous Navez Autre Desir
  11. Josquin Desprez: Nymphes Des Bois
  12. Hieronymus Vinders: O Mors Inevitabilis
  13. Josquin Desprez: Se Congie Prens
  14. Plusieurs Regretz
  15. Je Me Complains
  16. Pour Souhaitter
  17. Nimphes, Nappes
  18. Regretz Sans Fin
  19. Benedictus Appenzeller: Musae Jovis
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite