THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Dog Eat Dog

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Dog Eat Dog
Dog Eat Dog


Gulf Coast Records releases 'Dog Eat Dog' from soul blues singer Billy Price. After the critically acclaimed success and Blues Music Award nomination of his last album 'Reckoning', Billy was excited and eager to get back into Greaseland Studio in San Jose, California with producer Kid Andersen. Kid and Billy's mutual love for the music and commitment to making an original contribution to the soul blues genre is evident in this new collection. Kid and Billy assembled a first-class group of musicians on 'Dog Eat Dog', which features Price on vocals along with Andersen (guitars and assorted instruments), Alex Pettersen (drums), Jerry Jemmott (bass), Jim Pugh (keys), Eric Spaulding (tenor sax), Jack Sanford (baritone sax), and John Halblieb (trumpet). Andersen added congas to most tracks, covered by Jon Otis (son of the great Johnny Otis) and Vicki Randle (Mavis Staples). Randle also provided background vocals long with Lisa Leuschner Andersen, Charlie Owen, and the Sons of the Soul Revivers gospel group. 'Dog Eat Dog' also features guest appearances by Rick Estrin, Alabama Mike, and Mike Zito. Estrin plays harmonica on the title track, which he wrote. A big fan of Alabama Mike, Price was thrilled to share the lead vocals with Mike on "Dog Eat Dog". Mike Zito also contributed a scorching guitar solo on "All Night Long Café." "Billy Price is an outstanding singer and artist. He's simultaneously steeped in the soul tradition and 100% original and instantly recognizable. He will make you believe anything he sings." - Christoffer "Kid" Andersen. "I was taken and shaken by Billy Price and the Keystone Rhythm Band in the 1970s, when I was playing guitar in Muddy Waters' band. Billy has been one of my favorite singers, without qualification, ever since." - Bob Margolin


  1. Name
  2. Working On Your Chain Gang
  3. Lose My Number
  4. We're In Love
  5. Dog Eat Dog
  6. My Love Will Never Die
  7. All Night Long Cafe
  8. Walk Back In
  9. Toxicity
  10. Remnants
  11. Same Old Heartaches
  12. More Than I Needed
  13. You Gotta Leave
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock