THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Unforgettable Kathleen Ferrier

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
The Unforgettable Kathleen Ferrier
The Unforgettable Kathleen Ferrier


100 years after her birth, the exceptional singer Kathleen Ferrier is still remembered and loved by millions around the world. This 3-CD set features 50 classic recordings including 'Blow the Wind Southerly', 'What is Life?', 'Handel's Largo' and 'The Keel Row'.

Kathleen Ferrier's remarkable contralto voice, imbued with poignancy and pathos, gave everything she sang an emotional quality that was completely unmatched. This amazing collection gives you over three hours of pure joy and also includes a fascinating biographical booklet. All the tracks have been lovingly restored and digitally re-mastered to sound more vibrant than ever before.

Personnel: Kathleen Ferrier (contralto); Phyllis Spurr (piano); John Newmark (piano); Frederick Stone (piano); Bach Choir; London Symphony Orchestra; London Philharmonic Orchestra, The Jacques Orchestra; National Symphony Orchestra; Sir Adrian Boult, Sir Malcolm Sargent, Reginald Jacques, Clemens Krauss (conductors) and others


  1. Name
  2. Ma Bonny Lad
  3. The Keel Row
  4. Blow The Wind Southerly
  5. I Have A Bonnet Trimmed With Blue
  6. O Thou that Tellest Good Tidings of Zion
  7. He Was Despised (Messiah)
  8. I Know Where I'm Goin'
  9. The Fidgety Bairn
  10. I Will Walk with My Love
  11. What Is Life to Me Without Thee (Orfeo ed Euridice)
  12. Frondi Tenere.Ombra Mai Fu (Serse)
  13. Ca' the Yowes
  14. O Waly, Waly
  15. Willow, Willow
  16. The Stuttering Lovers
  17. Qui Sedes (Mass in B minor)
  18. Grief for Sin (St Matthew Passion)
  19. Have You Seen but a Whyte Lillie Grow?
  20. Ye Banks and Braes
  21. Drink to Me Only with Thine Eyes
  22. Down by the Sally Gardens
  23. Father Of Heaven from 'Judas Maccabeus'
  24. Return, O God Of Hosts! from 'Samson'
  25. Agnus Dei from 'Mass In B Minor'
  26. Woe Unto Them from 'Elijah'
  27. O Gracious God! ... If My Tears Be Unavailing from 'St Matthew Passion'
  28. Rhapsody For Contralto, Male Chorus And Orchestra, Op. 53
  29. Have Mercy, Lord, On Me from 'St Matthew Passion'
  30. Four Last Songs, Op. 121
  31. My Boy Willie
  32. To Daisies Op. 8, No. 3
  33. The Lover's Curse
  34. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal Op. 3, No. 2
  35. Over The Mountains
  36. Hark! The Echoing Air from 'The Fairy Queen'
  37. Like As The Love-Lorn Turtle from 'Atalanta'
  38. The Fairy Lough, Op. 72, No. 2
  39. Pretty Ring-Time
  40. Kitty, My Love
  41. Come You Not From Newcastle?
  42. Sleep
  43. Silent Noon
  44. A Soft Day Op. 140, No. 3
  45. Art Thou Troubled? from 'Rodelinda'
  46. Die Junge Nonne
  47. An Die Musik
  48. Gretchen Am Spinnrade
  49. Widmung Op. 25, No. 1
  50. Vieni, Vieni Con Me, Vieni, O Cara from 'Orfeo And Euridice'
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide