THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Canticles of Winter

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Canticles of Winter
Canticles of Winter


The band Music for a While, fronted by Norway's uncrowned queen of the cabaret, Tora Augestad, release an album they describe as "a selection of low-key winter songs with a hint of Christmas". It is miles away from a traditional Christmas record, although some of the loveliest Christmas songs ever written can be heard here.

Music for a While's trademark is the group's personal, organic and creative approach to the material, regardless of its origins. Whether the point of departure is Kurt Weill's familiar cabaret melodies or songs and pieces from the classical repertoire, two elements consistently stand out: vocalist Tora Augestad's vocal control and unique communication skills, and the band's elegant, seamless and genre-crossing treatment of the material.

Norwegian radio personality Erling Wicklund said in a review that the band "tear down genre boundaries and challenge us to rediscover our European music heritage". The record 'Canticles of Winter' presents music composed by John Dowland, Henry Purcell, George Frideric Handel, Carbonelli and Bach, among others.

In addition to Augestad, Music for a While features a dream team of Norwegian jazz musicians: accordion player Stian Carstensen (Farmers Market), trumpet player Mathias Eick (Jaga Jazzist, Manu Katché), tuba player Martin Taxt (Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, Koboku Senju) and drummer and percussionist Pål Hausken (In the Country, Susanna, Ida Jenshus).

'Canticles of Winter' is the band's most powerful and beautiful release thus far. It was recorded at Rainbow Studio in Oslo with the legendary Jan Erik Kongshaug as technician and producer.

Personnel: Tora Augestad (vocals), Stian Carstensen (accordion, banjo & pedal steel), Mathias Eick (trumpet), Martin Taxt, tuba), Pål Hausken (drums & percussion)


  1. Name
  2. DARKE: In the Bleak Midwinter
  3. TRAD.: Wexford Carol
  4. BACH: Wie soll ich dich empfangen
  5. TRAD.: In dulci jubilo
  6. SCHUBERT: Gute Nacht
  7. LINDEMAN: Kirken den er et gammelt hus
  8. CARBONELLI: Allegro
  9. TRAD.: Mitt hjerte alltid vanker
  10. TRAD.: Coventry Carol
  11. HÄNDEL: Will the Sun Forget to Streak
  12. DOWLAND: Come, Heavy Sleep
  13. PURCELL: Now Winter Comes Slowly
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock