THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Bone Orchard

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Bone Orchard
The Bone Orchard


The much anticipated second album from Sheffield-born ballad singer. "The Bone Orchard" continues the exploration narrative-led songs which began with his first album "Brief Lives". This time, however, Gavin has approached the material with a focus on characterisation, toying with the viewpoints and emotions of his subjects with plot secondary to the intrinsic humanity of the song. The cautionary tone of 'Farewell to Yorkshire', for example, is underpinned by the resigned resentment in Gavin's vocals, while the all-too-evident mournful sorrow delivered in 'Jim Jones in Botany Bay' has the listener pleading for a pardon with him. With its percussive washes and anticipatory strings, the album opener, 'Whitby Lad', establishes a cinematic feel which continues throughout the album. Aural ambience helps build the set in which Gavin's characters grow, so that the protagonist in 'Fair Rosamund' is tormented by hallucinatory whispers and hysterical harmonics, while the original title track is besieged by the voices of past and present in a nightmarish chatter. Guest contributors: Jim Causley vocals Tom Kitching, Pilgrims Way fiddle Tim Yates, The Albion Band bass Jim Molyneux, 4Square, The Old Dance School percussion Nick Cooke, Jim Moray, Mawkin melodeon Martin Keates, The Hurricane Party hurdy gurdy


  1. Name
  2. Whitby Lad
  3. Castle By The Sea
  4. Farewell To Yorkshire
  5. Fair Rosamund
  6. Long Legged Lurcher Dog
  7. From The Bone Orchard
  8. Creeping Jane
  9. Jim Jones in Botany Bay
  10. Wooden Swords and May Queens
  11. Bold Dragoon
  12. Banks Of Yarrow
  13. Hymn For The New Year
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock