THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

In the Beginning

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
In the Beginning
In the Beginning


'In the Beginning' features rare previously unreleased recordings by jazz guitar icon Wes Montgomery spanning the years 1949 to 1958. This deluxe 2-CD set includes 26 newly discovered live and studio recordings.

The set includes a complete 1955 Epic Records session produced by Quincy Jones, newly discovered 78 RPM sides with Wes as a sideman recorded for Spire Records (1949), a live recording from the home of Ervena Montgomery, Indianapolis (1956), live recordings from the Turf Club (1956), the Missile Lounge (1958) in Indianapolis, and the C&C Music Lounge in Chicago (1957).

'In the Beginning' features extensive liner notes, and meticulously designed artwork that have become Resonance Records' trademarks. The 2-CD version includes a 55-page booklet of liner notes by journalist and noted jazz historian and biographer Ashley Kahn, legendary producer Quincy Jones, guitarist Pete Townshend of The Who, alongside rare never-before-published photos from The Montgomery Estate and friends in Montgomery's native Indianapolis.

Since Wes Montgomery's passing in 1968, only two other albums of predominantly unreleased material have been released - 'Willow Weep for Me' (Verve, 1968) and 'Echoes of Indiana Avenue' (Resonance, 2012). Resonance Records is pleased to introduce the third such archival offering with 'In the Beginning'.


  1. Name
  2. After You've Gone
  3. Fascinating Rhythm
  4. Brazil
  5. What Is There to Say ?
  6. Four
  7. Wes' Tune
  8. My Heart Stood Still
  9. How High the Moon
  10. Django
  11. Going Down to Big Mary's
  12. I Should Care
  13. Caravan
  14. Six Bridges to Cross
  15. Ralph's New Blues
  16. Soft Winds
  17. Robbins' Nest
  18. A Night in Tunisia
  19. Love for Sale
  20. Leila
  21. Blues
  22. Undecided
  23. Far Wes
  24. All the Things You Are
  25. King Trotter
  26. Carlena's Blues
  27. Smooth Evening
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock