THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Truth, Liberty & Soul - Live In NYC: The Complete 1982 NPR Jazz Alive! Recording

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Truth, Liberty & Soul - Live In NYC: The Complete 1982 NPR Jazz Alive! Recording
Truth, Liberty & Soul - Live In NYC: The Complete 1982 NPR Jazz Alive! Recording


Resonance Records presents another previously unreleased gem from the NPR Music vaults, following 2016's critically acclaimed Sarah Vaughan release 'Live at Rosy's'. 'Truth, Liberty & Soul' captures the iconic bass innovator Jaco Pastorius leading a 22-piece big band on June 27, 1982 at Avery Fisher Hall in New York City.

Featuring a congregation of the top jazz musicians on the New York scene at the time such as Peter Erskine, Bob Mintzer, Randy Brecker, Jon Faddis, Frank Wess, Lew Soloff, Howard Johnson and others, along with the legendary harmonica player Toots Thielemans as a special guest, 'Truth, Liberty & Soul' showcases Jaco's brilliant compositions for large ensembles with electrifying energy of a live performance.

A portion of the concert was previously broadcast on the NPR program Jazz Alive! in 1982, and has been available as unofficial bootlegs, but this is the first official release authorized by the Jaco Pastorius estate, Warner Music Group and NPR Music and contains an additional 40 minutes which never aired. Culled from the original NPR 24-track tape reels, this is the complete concert from start-to-finish, with the sound meticulously restored for release and mastered by the original, multi-Grammy award winning, recording engineer from the broadcast, Paul Blakemore.

'Truth, Liberty & Soul' will be available as a deluxe 2-CD package and includes a 100-page booklet, featuring rare photos by Tom Copi, Don Hunstein, Rene Perez and Donna Ranieri, essays by acclaimed jazz writer Bill Milkowski (author of Jaco: The Extraordinary and Tragic Life of Jaco Pastorius) and producer Zev Feldman, the original recording engineer Paul Blakemore, as well as interviews with Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo, who produced the award-winning documentary JACO (2014), and musicians - drummer Peter Erskine, saxophonist Bob Mintzer, trumpeter Randy Brecker, bassist Victor Wooten and more!


  1. Name
  2. Invitation
  3. Soul Intro/The Chicken
  4. Donna Lee
  5. Three Views Of A Secret
  6. Liberty City
  7. Sophisticated Lady
  8. Bluesette
  9. I Shot The Sheriff
  10. Okonkolé Y Trompa
  11. Reza/Giant Steps (Medley)
  12. Mr. Fonebone
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock